Leave Egypt Behind

 

 

fullsizeoutput_786

photo courtesy of http://www.bible.ca

Are you stuck in Egypt? I have been and not just once but on several occasions. How many times have I sojourned away only to find myself right back in the circumstances I so longed to be done with? And, like the ancient Israelites, I cried out to God, “Don’t you see what I’m going through?” “Don’t you care?” “God, WHERE are You?!” And every time I would leave, I would complain that things weren’t any better on the outside, and although the circumstances in Egypt were anything but ideal, I kept going back because at least I knew what to expect in captivity even if it was spiritually unhealthy. Leaving meant taking a substantial, huge, ginormous, (how many adjectives do I need to use here?!), venture in faith.

One day I was finally tired of yo-yoing back and forth, back and forth, (that and the Holy Spirit had been nudging me for months to explore what was beyond my captivity). With some help from my spiritual father and a whole lot of Jesus, I packed my bags and never looked back!

Have you over stayed your welcome in Egypt? I encourage you with these words of Moses.

“The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14.

Shalom!

Join me on

Face Book

Instagram

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Contentment, Culture of Honor, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Ambassador's, God's Covenants, God's Goodness, God's Word and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leave Egypt Behind

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SHALOM-ALLEHEH!

  2. Not sure if I’m in Egypt again, or taking another trip around the wilderness. Gotta find a new Pastor who understands better than the old one…and a church I can be obedient to. Very good exegesis post. Bless you for posting it! 🙂

    • Terese says:

      I hear you, Jonathan!! It fascinates me how intricately connected seasons of wandering the wilderness can be to the temptation of heading back into captivity. I have to stay even more securely connected to Christ during the wilderness seasons! Thank you for your encouraging words, may God bless you with His perfect fit for a new church and Pastor!

Leave a Reply

