The More Things Change

IMG_0393On my walk this evening I saw this bunny, the first of the season since the rains have stopped. I stood as quietly as possible and took this picture before the bunny scampered off into the tall grass, and the thought came to me that the more things change the more they stay the same.

A lot has changed in our community in the 17 years we have lived here. The path I was walking on is part of a greater trail system through our town, and as I think about this, it is rather unique for this old farming town. This part of the path is across the road and behind some houses in our neighborhood. Up on a berm from the trail sit the tracks to an old Union Pacific rail line. The track has been inactive since the early 1990’s, however, many years ago, an old black steam engine made an appearance pulling into town with grand puffs of steam billowing from its stately chimney. If you were to walk up and stand on the tracks your imagination would take you to another time in history. One can still smell the diesel on the tracks and if you listen ever so closely, you can hear the rumble getting louder and louder as the multi car train is quickly approaching carrying its goods and treasures.

When our kids were little we would take walks along this path on warm summer evenings. They would run up to the tracks and down the other side into long tall grass gently swaying in the evening breeze of the delta. It seemed like the grass went on past what our eyes could see. Today, one doesn’t even have to climb up to the tracks to see what is on the other side-a housing development. Gone are the farm houses, tall grass and hay bales. Our community is still considered a core agricultural center, but gone is yesteryear. Except for the little cotton tails that come out every year without fail.

As I think about the more things change the more they stay the same I am reminded that regardless of change, my Savior, Jesus, is always constant. Today, tomorrow and forever.

Shalom!

©2017 Terese Belme

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in God's Word. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The More Things Change

  1. Your post is interesting. It brings to mind a question I have been pondering on my own prior to reading your post. I know you pointed out that God remains constant but I do wonder if he changes his mind sometimes. Can we make him change his mind through things like prayers, worship or other spiritual activities? I am thinking yes but I may be wrong. What do you think?

    • Terese says:

      Gbolabo, thank you for stopping by to read and comment. I have often wondered this myself and as I pray about this I rest in the assurance that God is Sovereign, he hears our prayers and loves when we worship and praise Him. I believe it is more of a heart sync rather than change His mind calibrating our heart to match the will of his heart. 😊

Leave a Reply

