Lingering with God

 

IMG_0189

Do you linger with God? Are you wondering what lingering with God might even look like? I know I was yesterday morning as I was reading this article The Lingerers And The Fragranced Ones Are Catching The King’s Attention” by Dawn Hill.

The word linger means, “to stay in a place longer than necessary, typically because of a reluctance to leave; to spend a long time over something.” I am reminded of King David’s words in Psalm 27:4, One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple. Dawn Hill
Later in the day I was caught pleasantly by surprise as I sat down to listen to a teaching on writing by Lisa Allen over at Compel Training and the title of her teaching is “The Most Important Hour of your Day – Learning to Linger.”
Lisa has many wonderful insights but the core of her teaching for me were these points on what lingering with God might look like. As Lisa explained what her lingering with God looked like I realized that I have been lingering all along but now see it with a fresh set of eyes. I use to be a list checker and call it a day, however, that wasn’t really spending time with God it was completing a task. Since I can sometimes be tempted to go back to list checking, I like the flexibility of lingering. Lingering helps me to remember there isn’t a right way to spend time with God. He simply wants you to come and seek Him and he will show you how He wants to spend this special time with you.
  • Have a special place that you go to sit in the presence of God, making sure it is comfortable but not overly so that you are too comfy and could possibly fall asleep.
  • Have all you essentials at your finger tips.
    • Any devotions that are speaking to you at the moment.
      • for me this includes “Power of a Praying Parent” and “Praying for Your Adult Children” both by Stormie Omaritan, and “Jesus Always” by Sarah Young.
  • A book that you are reading that furthers your spiritual growth.
    • I’m currently reading “The Letters in Red A Study on the words of Jesus” by Lee Wilkerson.
  • Bible study material perhaps something you are studying on your own or with a small group/life group.
    • I’m working on “Nehemiah a heart that can break” by Kelly Minter. Great study by the way!
  • 3×5 cards. I like to buy the pack with all the different colors. As I’m reading Scripture and a verse(s) stand out at me I write them down as prayers over my family.
  • A journal to record what you feel Holy Spirit speaking to your heart.
  • A Bible or two and different translations.
    • My go to favorite is my NIV study Bible prior to 1984.
    • The Message, although this is not an official translation, I really like to easy to understand thoughts of The Message.
  • Worship Music.
  • Sermon or training podcasts. This is ought to be used with great care, only because we can become distracted by this tool and the result is it takes away from our lingering with God rather than contributing to our growth.

I hope this has encouraged you! Please leave some ways that you linger with God in the comments.

Shalom!

 

Connect with me on FaceBook; Instagram

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Compel Writers Training, Contentment, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Ambassador's, God's Covenants, God's Word, Grace, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lingering with God

  1. I love this. Yes! Lingering in the presence of God brings joy.

  2. Thank you for the inspiration! I’m definitely feeling the need to linger more lately.

  3. Eccentric Muse says:

    Thank you for this. I definitely need to linger with the Father more. And cool mug!

  4. Great post! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

