That Woman

Copy of File_004

 

When I was in Jr. College, MANY years ago, I had taken a basic business class. I was also working at a bank. During the first part of this class the professor was teaching us everything we didn’t know about a check. The kind we use to write to pay for things; in some instances I still do, before our ATM cards became our go to form of payment.

The professor began asking “Do you know where the ABA number is?” “What does the number after the slash of the ABA number stand for?” “Why is it important to write out the amount and draw a line or xxx’s after the amount to the end of the line?”  As you can guess I had all the right answers and at the time I enjoyed every minute of it because I was being heard. Not only that, I was THAT WOMAN being heard!

A few years ago as I was preparing to give a message at church God gave me an epiphany about being heard and why I felt for so many years that I was unheard. He reminded me that when I was five years old my little Italian paternal grandmother called me, in English, a language she swore she didn’t understand and could not speak, a talking machine! How I had bought into that lie of Satan at an early age and believed it well into my adulthood. The truth is God called me to a speaking and teaching ministry. He called me to be heard!

This morning as I was working on a study from the book of Nehemiah, I came to the place where Nehemiah had to respond to the question of the King of Persia about why he was so sad. The author asks, “Of what was Nehemiah afraid?” Then asks participants to list the first few fears that come to mind about living a gospel inspired life.

Before I had time to think words flew from pen to page and I had used the entire side margin with my response.

Almost immediately after becoming a born again Christian God gave me a new passion for prayer and a burden for the spiritual health and growth of the Body. For many years I have lived from a spiritual perspective with Holy Spirit giving me His view to encourage and give hope to others. To come alongside others and inspire them to fall in love with Jesus and to know how important it is to stay connected to Him, especially through reading and studying his word. But, sometimes, many times, I feel like ‘that woman’

So, what is my fear of living a gospel inspired life? Being THAT WOMAN! Ha! Guess what God is doing in his perfect timing and sovereignty? RESTORING me!

That Woman is who God called me to be and I am loved eternally by my King!

Shalom!

Follow me on FaceBook; Instagram

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Authority, Behavior, Blessings, Contentment, Culture of Honor, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, Freedom, God's Ambassador's, God's Word, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That Woman

  1. Haha Yes. Keep being that woman! Praise God.

  2. Love your writing. Praise God for you and for your gift of writing and for your gift of “talking.” I have that gift too and it just means you have a lot to say and to write and teach. Especially God has showed you that your gift is very special so that you can use your words of love to teach and to lead many others to Christ. Thank you for you. Hugs and blessing always.

    • Terese says:

      Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words! I enjoy your blog as well and look forward to reading more. Our youngest, who just turned 17 is in the ADHD spectrum, she was diagnosed last year. Every day is different especially with her mood, but I am thankful for you and your blog and the information you provide. It is wonderful that you present at NAMI! God bless you as you continue to use your words and your other gifts to bless the lives of others. Thank you for sharing your journey with us!

Leave a Reply

