The Kindness Factor

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 4.08.08 PMHate is a very strong word. In our family we like say, “dislike with great intensity.” I dislike with great intensity how the ways of this world can sometimes cause us to be suspicious.

This afternoon I was in line at the grocery store. The man in front of me kept turning around in my direction and clearly invading my space and I was becoming very uncomfortable. Just before it was his turn he walked away and the checker was left asking me whose groceries were next. As it turns out this man comes back with his wife who has a separate basket of groceries and quite a bit more than her husband had already put up on the conveyor belt, in fact my groceries were already there as well. I told the man’s wife to go ahead of me to which she was very grateful.

Her husband came up to me and told me I was too kind. I replied, “The world needs a little more kindness.” He said, “I hope I can return that kindness sometime.” I told him, “Yes, pay it forward.” He touched his wallet and very kindly said, “You want me to pay for you?” I smiled and said, “No, pay the kindness forward!”

There is so much animosity these days, especially across social media. It was nice to experience God’s grace even as he was gently reprimanding me for my earlier suspicions.

Precious One, that is why it is so important for us to be continually connected to The Vine; to Jesus. Only He can calm our emotions and show us the good in every situation.

Shalom!

Follow me on FaceBook; on Instagram

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, Blessings, Culture of Honor, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, Freedom, God's Ambassador's, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Hope, Justice and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Kindness Factor

  1. A very good story, Terese. Thanks for sharing it and your thoughts about it as well. Did you ever figure me out on Facebook?

    Steve

    • Terese says:

      Thank you for your encouragement, Steve! I did find you on FaceBook but I the friend request button on your page isn’t highlighted so I can’t click on it to send you a friend request!

      • Funny, Terese, I found you and it was the same thing?! Wonder what to do next?? Never had this problem before. Do you want to befriend one of my friends and then see if FB asks if you know other of their friends? I may pop up that way. If so, try our minister, Lonnie Fritz…

Leave a Reply

