Open The Floodgates!

fullsizeoutput_4bd

Last year, in an attempt to conserve water and because our state was in a severe drought, we set our sprinklers to come on once a week; just enough to give our plants a drink and hopefully keep them a brownish green.

The summers here can push upwards of 100+ degrees, and even though we live relatively close to the bay, we have micro climates causing the differing temperatures around this region. Needless to say, our plants began to die. I decided to start pulling out the dead plants to prepare our yard to become drought resistant. I started working on a fern like plant that was completely dead and thought that it would simply come up out of the ground with little to no effort. That was my first mistake. My second mistake was relying on the presumption of my first mistake and rather than test the ease of pulling this dead plant out, I grab a hold of it and yanked. Now, mind you, I was wearing some heavy duty, industrial strength gardening gloves; not those dainty gloves with cute designs of flowers and flower pots and gardening tools. There is nothing wrong with those glove, in fact I have owned many in my passion for gardening days.

Did I mention this dead plant had very dead thorns that were still as sharp if the plant had been alive? During my second mistake one of those thorns pierced through my heavy duty industrial strength gloves and into my skin. Thankfully, I was able to get the thorn out and continue my work.

Months later I realized that my finger was still sensitive where the thorn had gone into my skin and realized there was still a piece of the thorn left! With the help of some essential oils I was able to retrieve the rest of that pesky thorn.

Sensitive. That is how the subject of tithing can be. Very sensitive. I mentioned in this blog post about a Bible software I had been wanting and received a complimentary download of the basic package. It was while using this software that Holy Spirit began to speak to me about tithing from a verse in the book of Joel. I know, I was surprised as well and I love when He connects verses together and they walk hand in hand like the best of friends!

The seed shrivels under the clods; the storehouses are desolate; the granaries are torn down because the grain has dried up. Joel 1:17.

This verse reminds me of Malachi 3:10. While the NT does not comment on how much we ought to tithe, only that God loves a cheerful giver, signaling that we, indeed, ought to give.

And what does God say he will do when, we stepping out in faith, bring the full tithe to him? He tells us to test him. The Sovereign King of all heaven and earth and everything in it tells us to test Him and see if he will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out a blessing so great that there will not be room enough to store it! When was the last time you tested God with your tithing? Do you trust Him to do what he promises and to be Who He says he is?

The storehouses in Joel 1:17 were desolate because God’s children had turned away from God and having turned away they also stopped giving back to God.

Thank God for giving you the faith to bring your full tithe to Him so that there will be always be food in his house and wait expectantly as he pours out a blessing so large you will simply have to give more back to Him because you will not be able to contain it!

Precious One you were set apart to have faith that God will do what he promises and to believe He is Who he claims to be.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Authority, Behavior, Blessings, Contentment, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, Freedom, God's Covenants, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Tithing, Trust, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Open The Floodgates!

  1. Light Ministry Blog says:

    I believe this is generally a good post, Terese. However, I just can’t agree with the idea that we are still to tithe. The old law is now passed, we live by the new covenant of grace in Christ Jesus. And the fact that scripture tells us that we should set apart what we want to give in our hearts allows us to give as we have been prospered. Having said that, if some want to give a tenth of what they earn, so be it…it’s what they have decided in their hearts to give. I hope you can see the point I’m making…

    Thanks so much and may the Lord bless and keep you in His love!

    Steve

    • Terese says:

      Steve, thank you so much for stopping by to read and comment and the courage to share your insight. After digging deeper still, I have edited my original post. You are indeed correct. In the original context, “he proposes”, 2 Corin. 9:7 means to choose for oneself.

      The point I set out to make is that tithing ought to be a spiritual discipline we seek to practice and when we do, with the right attitude, God blesses us in return.

      As always, I value your wisdom!

  2. Amen! I’m a firm believer in tithing. My budget has never made sense on paper, and yet we have never gone without.

  3. Fantastic post! 🙂 ♥ I hadn’t linked that verse with Joel 1:17 before; that’s really neat. 😊

    This also reminds me a bit of Gladys Aylward’s testimony. Her life was an incredible example of Malachi 3:10.

    • Terese says:

      Praise God, thank you Penelope Grace! I like the way your nickname and given name sound together!

      I’m always amazed when God reveals the correlation between verses that seemingly have no connection! Thank you for stopping by to read, read, read and comment!

Leave a Reply

