Childhood Nicknames

fullsizeoutput_417

I have a childhood nickname that has always been endearing to me because the two youngest of my older brothers have called me by this nickname for as long as I can remember. I will be 54 this year and they still occasionally call me by this nickname. Even some of their friends, who grew up at our house and are ‘brothers’, still call me by this childhood name.

My brothers have never had an explanation as to where this name came from, they simply starting calling me Boosh and it is pronounced phonetically as it appears.

I’m a big proponent of speaking life into the lives of others. Life is truth and truth reaches down to our souls and settles there like a welcomed visitor. Imagine my surprise as I was reading Psalm 127:5 and felt led to look up one word in its original context.

How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them; They will not be ashamed when they speak with their enemies in the gate. Psalm 127:5.

The word I looked up is ashamed and in its original context it is the Hebrew word boosh. Now, I can guarantee you with one hundred percent certainty that my brothers did not mean to speak shame into my life in any way, shape or form. However, just as God will use anything to get our attention, even a speaking donkey. Satan will use whatever means he can to destroy our lives; mentally, emotionally, spiritually and physically. And true to his devious, deceptive and hideous nature, we may not recognize his path of destruction for years. That is why I cannot stress enough how important it is to engage in spiritual disciplines on a daily basis, especially reading and studying God’s word.

Recently I was reminded of these verses in Joel.

“Then I will make up to you for the years
That the swarming locust has eaten,
The creeping locust, the stripping locust and the gnawing locust,
My great army which I sent among you.

“You will have plenty to eat and be satisfied
And praise the name of the LORD your God,
Who has dealt wondrously with you;
Then My people will never be put to shame. Joel 2:25-26.

And look it there, the very last word of verse 26. There is no way, my friends, I could have planned that. This is a total God thing.

Precious One may you also be restored for the years the locusts have stolen.

Stay connected to The Vine.

Shalom!

 

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Authority, Blessings, Contentment, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Covenants, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Health, Holy Spirit, Hope, Identity, Inheritance, Kingdom of God, Nuggets and Treasure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Childhood Nicknames

  1. Love this post! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

