It Started With A Bowl Of Cereal

fullsizeoutput_24a

One morning, when I was about eight years old, I was sitting at our kitchen table happily pouring a bowl of frosted flakes. This was a sweet treat for me because my mom rarely bought cereal in those days. For some reason, after I poured my bowl of cereal, I decided it was a good idea to also add sugar, a lot of sugar, to my cereal. I ate every bite!

Something happened to me that morning as I was pouring the extra sugar onto my cereal. There was a shift inside of me, a knowingness that I was about to get entangled in a web of deceit. Of course, eight year old me didn’t think of it as deceit, it was simply a feeling. However, as I reflect back I believe the shift was a spiritual one and I had opened the door to the enemy to begin his attack.

Fast forward to my early twenties and years of struggling with weight problems and a diagnosis of low blood sugar more commonly known as hypoglycemia. Someone afflicted with hypoglycemia produces too much insulin whereas someone afflicted with diabetes does not produce enough. The doctor that diagnosed me commented that if sugar were produced in that period of time, one would need a prescription to buy sugar, that is how bad sugar is for us. He immediately put me on a low carb diet. Wow! For the first time in my life I lost all the weight I had gained and had energy I didn’t know what to do with!

Jump with me to ten years ago. New doctor, new tests and a blood sugar reading of, wait for it…..NORMAL!! I knew in this moment God had chosen to heal me. There are some spiritual residuals left over, no pun intended. When I am feeling stressed or overwhelmed I immediately want comfort food – pizza is my favorite. When I am feeling sad, lonely, unheard or misunderstood I want sugar, specifically, candy. I have heard others say we don’t have to ask God what to eat everyday, but I do. There are some days I don’t have one iota of self-control when it comes to eating and if left to my own devices, well, it would be pizza for days!

Precious One, taking care of your body, spiritually, mentally and physically IS a sweet sacrifice to the King of the world. You have been set apart to do so. When you do it is a fragrant aroma lifted up to Him in true worship.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Blessings, Contentment, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Health, Holy Spirit, Worship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It Started With A Bowl Of Cereal

  1. Great post!
    I have finally gotten (somewhat) to a point of allowing the Spirit to guide my eating choices. I used to ignore it with terrible consequences. Now that I’m trying to listen, I hear it more. I think if we consciously remember our bodies are a temple we would treat it with more care.

  2. in567 says:

    Eating struggles are so real. Yo yo dieting, etc. If ever I lost weight to be the weight I’ve always wanted to reach, I only stayed there for like 3 months. Then back to eating sugary foods again. Especially sugary beverages.
    I enjoyed this read, Terese.

    • Terese says:

      Thank you for stopping by to read and comment. I, too, have struggled for many years with the right eating plan. I find that too many carbs has me craving with a capital “C” sugary treats! God bless both of us with His will power to eat healthy!

  3. Light Ministry Blog says:

    Well said, Terese! A good story from a personal perspective and a good reminder to take care of our bodies, for this is expected of God!

    Steve 🙂

    • Terese says:

      Thank you Steve!

      • Light Ministry Blog says:

        You are very welcome, Terese. I hope you were able to find me on FB and “friend” me. I looked all over the place for how to send a friend request and couldn’t find it.

        I am the first “Steve Jeffries” listed in the search box if you went looking. There is nothing else after my name. Anyway, I found you but again, couldn’t find a way to send you the friend request! Sorry…

        🙂

  4. Terese says:

    Good morning Steve! I sent you a message on messenger. I found you as well but the friend request button on your page is not highlighted for me to click on. I’m thinking mine is the same way. I will change that now. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

