Victory Or Pride

file_000-60

A few days ago I came across this question in a study I am journeying through, “In Paul’s day adopted children had the same legal rights as any other son or daughter, which included the rights to their father’s inheritance. Knowing you are a joint heir with Jesus, how might you live differently?” My response is that I think about this often. Why does my head understand that the victory in all situations has already been won but my heart is desperately lagging behind? Is it fear, trust, faith, pride or all of these?

I use to be very competitive and sometimes I still am, but as I have grown and matured in my relationship with God, I have come to believe that competitiveness is rooted in pride. Being competitive was second nature to me. I grew up with four older brothers who played football, basketball and baseball. I wanted the “W” all the time, every time.

When I was in Jr. High School one of my favorite teachers of all time, Mr. Francis, started an after school girls basketball team. We represented our school but didn’t play under our school, we were a part of a recreation league. As I reflect back it amazes me that girls and women were still treated as if our goals and aspirations didn’t include the things boys were able to be involved in. I’m not a feminist by any means and perhaps this is some of that prideful rebellion coming out all these years later that still needs to be reconciled to who I am in Christ. Thanks to a gentle giant of a man, many years later, epiphany hits me; without words this kind teacher taught a group of girls that they mattered and could be what they aspired to become. I went on to play basketball throughout high school as well as being a cheerleader, or as we called it in those days, a rah-rah.

These days I still want the win but I want it because of Christ and for Christ. I want to live out the victory his death won for me on the cross. I want to know it and feel it in every situation and every struggle.

I want my heart to say, “Christ has won the day!” I don’t want to fight for victory, I want to fight from victory.

Precious One, this is the way, walk in it.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Contentment, Depending on God, Faith, God's Word, Grace, Identity, Inheritance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Victory Or Pride

  1. gracelead says:

    I especially like “I don’t want to fight for victory. I want to fight from victory.” I’ve written that in my notes as an excellent reminder.

  2. “These days I still want the win but I want it because of Christ and for Christ. I want to live out the victory his death won for me on the cross. I want to know it and feel it in every situation and every struggle. I want my heart to say, “Christ has won the day!” I don’t want to fight for victory, I want to fight from victory. Precious One, this is the way, walk in it.” The basis for a beautiful prayer.

Leave a Reply

