Measure Of All Fullness

file_000-39

I use to be rebellious, especially when I was younger. Maybe you know what I am talking about? That self-righteous rebellion, my way or the highway type of rebellion. Rebellion has caused me to say many unkind things and make many wrong decisions. Decisions resulting in outcomes that could have been avoided. Decisions that affected not only my life but the lives of those around me, of those I love deeply. Like a paint can that is dropped and the paint splatters not only on the canvas of my life but the canvas of the lives of others. Thankfully, as I have grown in my relationship with Jesus he has softened my heart and taken rebellion away from me and his Spirit teaches me to be more sensitive to His will.

This morning I came across the above verses in a study that I am journeying through and the beginning verse in this short passage stood out at me.

So that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. Ephesians 3:17a.

As a believer in Christ the moment you accepted Christ as your Lord and Savior his Spirit filled you and sealed you and marked you for eternity. Why then, was Paul praying for Christ to dwell in the hearts of the Ephesians through faith? The Ephesians were already established as a church. I believe the point Paul was making is when we choose an intimate relationship with Jesus we invite him to permanently dwell within us, choosing His will over our will. Choosing to let go of ‘my way or the highway’ and choosing to be filled to the measure of the fullness of God. Enabling us to resist the temptation to do things on our own or in our own way and trusting God to show us his perfect way.

I am thankful that I am still a work in progress and the splatters of paint on the canvas of my life are not because I have dropped the can of paint rather that God splashes my life with his lavish love giving me daily opportunities to trust Him more and the kaleidoscope of color is his brilliance shining through a life of obedience to Him.

Precious One may you daily experience how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.

Shalom!

 

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, Blessings, Contentment, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Measure Of All Fullness

  1. One of my favorite pieces of Scripture, Terese. Thank you for blessing my Sunday morning. ❤

Leave a Reply

