Nothing New Under The Sun

file_000-29

When I was a little girl I dreamed of being a mommy. A mommy who could stay home and raise her children and do mommy stuff, whatever that entailed, in my five-year old mind. In the late 70’s we finally moved into the 20th century and got shag carpet! Think mult-colored carpeting in avocado; brown with shags of gold and tan; and blue. Each room had its own color designation; a true kaleidoscope of color! However, before that time we had hard wood floors with a huge area rug in the living room. I would lay out a blanket and line up all my dolls and play house. Some might say that during that era, that’s what little girls did; played house, but there was something more to that for me. My mom was a stay at home mom, or in those days, housewife. Despite her flaws my mom was really good at her job. So good was her love of being a mom that I wanted that for me too. My mom modeled to me motherhood.

Recently, a dear Friend posted the above picture and caption on social media and it caused me to stop and wonder, “Indeed, when did we get so far from this?” The same morning I began a journey through the Book of Isaiah; this was days ago and I am still only on chapter 1! The method that feels comfortable to me is asking Holy Spirit to highlight words, thoughts, themes or ideas and He never disappoints, because, well, He is the Spirit of God and his job is to reveal to us insights into God’s word. Holy Spirit is really good at his job.

As I was reading through Isaiah chapter 1, verse 4 really stood out at me.

Ah, sinful nation, a people loaded with guilt, a brood of evildoers, children given to corruption! They have forsaken the LORD: they have spurned the Holy One of Israel and turned their back on him.” Isaiah 1:4.

As I thought about Isaiah 1:4 my mind connected it to what my Friend had posted. Initially, what came to mind are the words from Ecclesiastes.

What has been will be again, what has been done will be done again there is nothing new under the sun. Ecclesiastes 1:9.

When I sat down to journal this morning Holy Spirit brought to mind the words of Moses.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:5-9.

How did we get so far from what God originally intended? Somewhere along the way and over centuries there has been a consistent breakdown of the commands of God. Rather than adults modeling lives of morals and integrity, we have adults leading innocent children into corruption.

Precious One, be the person you want the children in your sphere of influence to be.

#Churcharise

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Culture of Honor, Depending on God, Discipleship, Faith, God's Ambassador's, God's Covenants, God's Goodness, God's Word, Trust and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nothing New Under The Sun

  1. Jamie Carter says:

    If God’s ways are higher than our, his thoughts are higher than ours – then how can we claim to know with any certainty what his intentions are? or what he desired of the first century church is still that which he desires from the twenty-first century church? I think back to the biggest changes in the past century or so – women being granted the right to vote (1920s), civil rights challenges segregation (1960s), LGBTQ discrimination challenged and marriage equality (2015) – if nothing happens without God’s approval, then he’s behind a lot of major changes that have completely upended how people used to think about themselves and society and culture. Talk to any number of people who were on the right side of history and they’ll tell you that they believed what they did because of that’s how they understood the Bible. They were only walking away from the other side that used the bible to discriminate, hate, and condemn. It might surprise you, but this generation is no more “corrupt” than the one before it, or the youth before them. There’s a whole lot of young people being judged as if they’d done something that they hadn’t. Same was probably true when you were young.

    • Terese says:

      Jamie, thank you for stopping and taking the time to read and comment. You wrote, “It might surprise you, but this generation is no more “corrupt” than the one before it, or the youth before them.” That is part of the point I was attempting to make. I am truly sorry if my words did not convey this thought. I also believe that the handing down of God’s word from generation to generation has lost the same zeal as the First century church. Or, maybe as modern day Christians, we have allowed the world’s view to water down the hard truths of God’s word when we teach them to others. It also wasn’t my intention to pass judgement, thank God that is not my responsibility, but if my words read that way, again, my apologies. You also ask, “If God’s ways are higher than our, his thoughts are higher than ours – then how can we claim to know with any certainty what his intentions are? or what he desired of the first century church is still that which he desires from the twenty-first century church?” I believe this has to do with free will. As believers our choice didn’t end with choosing Jesus. Everyday we have the opportunity to choose to spend time with Jesus and nurture our relationship with him. I think of Jeremiah 33:3 “‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’” Yes, God’s thoughts and ways are, indeed, higher than ours. Perhaps this is one reason why staying connected to Him is vitally important. How can we perceive his will for our life if we don’t. And, if the Bride, as a whole, isn’t staying connected to Him, then yes, how can we perceive his intentions on anything?
      ‭‭

Leave a Reply

