You Already Know

lightning-mountain-silhouette_GyYQcDKdCurrently I am on the road and today I had the opportunity to worship at a church in the area I am staying. The Pastor gave a message that I not only know but that I needed to hear again simply because I had done exactly what the Pastor’s message was about.

This particular faith family is in a sermon series titled, “The Red Words,” and today’s message was out of John 15.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”

I won’t retell the sermon but will share what really resonated with me. He asked us if we truly know what staying connected to Jesus looks like. Are we truly dependent on Jesus or do we bring what we think we can do in our own power and ask God to combine it with his power and then expect God to move?

He went on to tell the story of Darlene Deibler Rose, who was a missionary in Indonesia, and was captured and imprisoned by the Japanese during World War II. Darlene was tortured repeatedly while in prison, she was hungry and exhausted. One day she began to crave bananas and as she looked out the window of her prison cell she saw a guard smuggle bananas to another woman prisoner. She cried out asking God for just one banana. The next day she received ninety-two! 

Darlene came to realize this truth; “What I needed to do was link my impotence to God’s omnipotence.” Darlene understood that in her weakness she could only depend on the unlimited power of God. She didn’t bring to God what she felt she could do in her own strength, she came to God completely powerless and trusted God’s power to work in her situation.

Later in the day I realized why this resonated with me, because I have been coming to God in the midst of struggles and bringing what I think I can do on my own and asking God to combine it with his mighty power. When I ought to come to him confessing that I am powerless to do anything apart from Him and that I am dependent on Him and his power to work in any situation in life.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9.

When we choose to stay connected to the Vine weakness is not a negative thing. Our weakness, our inability to do anything in our own power is when the supernatural power of God flows through us and spills into our life and our life situations.

Precious One, you are powerless but God is powerful. And that is something you already know.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Depending on God, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Holy Spirit, Hope, Spiritual Health, Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Already Know

  1. The True Light! says:

    This is well thought out and so true in the Lord! A good explanation of bearing fruit in my opinion! Keep up the good work, Terese!

    Steve

  2. The True Light! says:

    Reblogged this on The True Light.

  3. Kristi Ann says:

    Amen Sister in Christ Jesus-Yeshua Terese!!

    Happy Shavua Tov ( Good Week ) Everyone!!

    Love Always and Shalom Everyone, YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

Leave a Reply

