The Battle Cry

Screen Shot 2016-07-12 at 9.29.31 AM

Photo courtesy Flikr photo sharing.

Every year some of my friends ask God for a word for the year. A word that helps them focus on his will for their life. One friend received the word balance and whenever we have the opportunity to spend time together she shares with me how God is teaching her balance in her life. Another friend received the word breakthrough, knowing this friend, she is not only praying for breakthrough in her own life but for the entire Body of Christ and across the nations!

Even I have asked God, on occasion, for a word that will highlight my year, but as I reflect back on this I realize God gives me, without me asking, a battle cry. My battle cry for this year is Romans 8:28.

 

 

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

God gave me this verse very early in this now half old year, during a time when I was in a ministry funk and had been for the past six months, coupled with the challenges and struggles of our youngest lovebug. This verse seemed to be everywhere, in things that I read, conversations that I was having and before long God was giving it away to others. He even used it as a parallel theme in a message I had the opportunity to give at church one Sunday. However, every time the struggle for my daughter would rear its ugly head, I would question God if I was suppose to step away from ministry. I felt the two were somehow intertwined. There were days I would look at my husband, in tears, and simply say, “I Am Done.”

One morning I sent a message to our Pastor, who was our friend before he became our Pastor, and I was conversing with him as both friend and as a part of the flock he has been given to care for. He already knew of the struggles we had been facing and I told him that I felt I needed to step away from ministry for awhile. He said something simple yet profound that has come to pass. He told me that I wasn’t stepping away from ministry I was looking at it from a new angle. He didn’t try to talk me out of my decision or offer any advice. He simply spoke God’s truth into my life, knowing the gifts and anointing God has given me and left it there in encouragement and support.

Still the struggle for our daughter continues and I continue to question God about ministry. I ask him, “Why me, why us, why my kid?” Something in my spirit knows I ought to be looking at how the two are connected. There is something I need to learn about me before I can move on. Then God gave me this.

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. Romans 5:3,4.

Herein lies the answer to my questions. Character, God is building character for the next season of ministry through the struggles in my child’s life by teaching me to respond rather than react because he uses ALL things for my good because I love Him and he has called me.

Just yesterday as the struggle once again raised it’s distorted, twisted, pitiful self, God reminded me of the battle cry he has given me and literally minutes later a friend messaged me, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28.

Precious One, IN.ALL.THINGS.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Depending on God, Faith, God Willing, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Battle Cry

  1. The True Light! says:

    Terese, I am sorry to hear about the struggles your daughter is facing. God must be working something in her life as well…

    As for you, do not let troubles and challenges deter you from your daily conviction to the Lord of love! We are told in James to consider it pure joy when we experience trials of all kinds because they build up our perseverance in the faith. Trials make us stronger and more effective in our abilities to minister to others. It isn’t a time to pull back, but a time to push forward!

    Continue to spread the word and help others know about Jesus. Encourage those who need it and be encouraged within yourself. This is the message I have for you, and I hope it helps…

    Thanks for sharing the post in such an open and honest way!

    Steve

    • Terese says:

      Thank you Steve for your encouraging words from the Lord! That’s part of what the Body does regardless of where we are. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. 🙂

      • The True Light! says:

        You are always welcome, Terese! I enjoy reading your post very much. Have a super day…

        Steve 🙂

Leave a Reply

