Before You Hit Enter

DO NOT ENTER sign.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23.

I think self-control is the most challenging of these, as it is for many people. And it is self-control that we ought to express in our thoughts, our actions and our words. I use to have very little self-control, to the point I had become passive aggressive with my words and in my actions, especially over social media, spewing my anger and frustration into the abyss of the internet silently hoping just one person would sympathize with me. And when that one person did, instantly I felt justified, vindicated; my love tank was filled.

I knew I was bound by passive aggressive behavior, a behavior learned very early as a child that grew up in a home where my mom, a wonderfully loving and caring mom, but one who was so disillusioned by the way her life had turned out, yelled day in and day out, mostly at my dad, but my brothers and I were not exempt from her abusive behavior.

One morning, many years ago, during a prayer time I asked God to begin healing me of this behavior. It wasn’t easy, it took a lot of self reflection and the courage to want to let go of the things that I held onto like a security blanket so that God could begin his healing and restoration. A process that still continues to this day, praise God!

One of the habits that became very important to me and still is, is to rise early and spend time in God’s word. It is here that I began to see the difference between my reality and the truth of what God says in his word. I have come to see that situations are situations but there is always a truth in God’s word that covers any situation. The importance of this is when we are going through a challenging time, if we have spent sufficient and consistent time in God’s word he will bring to mind the Scripture(s) that covers any reality and it is these truths that we ought to meditate on not the frustrating or aggravating situation.

Precious One, I get it, I really do, how some situations can be so frustrating and seem so hopeless, but before you hit the send button and potentially embarrass yourself, PLEASE, check in with God and allow his peace,that goes beyond all understanding, to cover you. And when you do I believe you will be less likely to hit the enter button and extremely thankful that God loves you so much he gives you the courage not to.

Prayer, It is a powerful thing. Commit to pray, especially during those frustrating times and watch the power of God move in your life. After all, we are ambassadors for Christ to the kingdom of God. One of our deepest desires ought to be that others see the love and grace of God in our actions and our words and want what we have, a relationship with Christ and the hope of eternity spent with him.

Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. Galatians 5:24.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, Contentment, Depending on God, Faith, God's Ambassador's, God's Word, Grace, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Before You Hit Enter

  1. Hey, Terese. I’ve had an interesting journey with the Spirit’s fruit, and have discovered for me there has been a domino effect. Once I allowed the Spirit to fill me with His love, I was able to open myself up to His joy. Once I allowed His joy to wash over me, I felt His peace permeate my heart. And so on.
    I pray every day to embody and produce His fruit; and yes, self-control came after all the rest.

  2. vw1212 says:

    Wonderful….vw

Leave a Reply

