Every Little Thing

Serpentine pathway stones on a park lawn (concept)

I have the best son! He is an only son in the middle of two terrific sisters. When he was little we use to tell him that he was the best part of the sandwich, the middle! Of course, one can’t have a good sandwich without the two slices of bread to hold it altogether. A simple analogy that let all three of our kids know how special and unique they are.

A few days ago I asked my son if he would run the lawn mower over our wee, er, lawn. Where we live we have been in a drought for several years and we are in the process of making our yards drought resistant. Somehow the lawn has almost died but the weeds are green and hardy and that is with the sprinklers turned off.

Without hesitation, it is so nice as our kids get older and they want to help out without a second thought, he started up our lawn mower. Now, this lawn mower has seen better days. It was new when we bought it and my husband, ever the handy man, has patched and repaired this lawn mower and it still runs great! Except for one thing, once it has been started it doesn’t like to turn off. When my son was done mowing he came to get me to tell me that he couldn’t get the mower to turn off. Having used this machine many, many times throughout the years and knowing most of the idiosyncrasies it has developed, I was sure I could ‘fix’ the problem. As it turned out, I could not figure out how to stop it.

As I am standing with my son thinking to myself, “Are we really going to have to let this run out of gas until it stops?” I heard a voice say, “Ask me.” I immediately asked God to show us what to do and even before I finished asking my son remembered and reached down and broke the connection and even explained to me what he had done!

Many times I believe we forget that we are over comers because Christ has overcome the world. We forget that God wants to take care of every little thing. Maybe we think God can’t be bothered by the small details of our life. That may be the reality but the truth is God works all things together for us.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

Precious One,

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33.

Even over coming a tired old lawn mower.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Depending on God, Faith, God's Covenants, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope, Identity, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Every Little Thing

  1. renewedhope says:

    This post really connected with me. I have a Lawn service business and I frequently find myself asking the Lord to show me what to do when something goes crazy with my equipment and I have done everything I knew to fix the problem. It is then that I ask the Lord to help and he always comes through. God bless.

  2. Awww I was the middle child and I never once heard “When he was little we use to tell him that he was the best part of the sandwich, the middle!” That is an awesome thing to say to him!

Leave a Reply

