Kinsman Redeemer

cross on a hill

She was a Moabitess married to an Israelite and although God did not forbid their marriage, He did forbid any Moabite male or his sons to enter the assembly of  the LORD. Had there been any male offspring from this union they would have been forbidden to worship God in the assembly.

Within a span of 10 years she lost her father-in-law, her brother-in-law and her husband. She, her mother-in-law and sister-in-law were left without their providers and protectors. As was the custom of the time the next eldest son was required to marry his widowed sister-in-law to carry on and protect the inheritance of the deceased brother’s name and estate. Except in her story there wasn’t a next eldest son.

Her name is Ruth and her story is full of redemption.

After the menfolk of these ladies had passed, Naomi, Ruth’s mother-in-law, decided to journey back to Jerusalem because she heard God had ended the famine, which had caused Naomi, her husband and sons to move and settle in Moab years before. Naomi strongly encouraged her daughters-in-law to go back to their fathers homes. One of them did but Ruth would not leave Naomi’s side and Ruth spoke some of the most beautiful words in Scripture to Naomi.

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.” Ruth 1:16,17.

While the Moabites were actually relatives of the Israelites; Moab was the son of Lot, who was the nephew of Abraham, Ruth would have mostly likely grown up worshipping many gods and idols, which was customary of the culture she lived in. Being in a mother/daughter in-law relationship, Naomi and Ruth would have spent a lot of time together, they quite possibly lived together or within close proximity of one another. I imagine they prepared meals, washed clothes and took care of their families together. Naomi must have lived her life in such a way of sharing God with Ruth that when there really was nothing left to bind them together Ruth commits to making Naomi’s God her God. A glimmer of God’s redemption.

Fast forward in Ruth’s story to her future husband Boaz who becomes her kinsman redeemer. There are certain aspects of the kinsman redeemer process but what I want to share with you is the beautiful and intimate scene that takes place on the threshing floor. After Boaz had lain down for the night Ruth quietly approached and pulled back the cover from his feet and laid down. When Boaz awoke he realized Ruth was laying at his feet. Ruth asked Boaz to pull the corner of his garment over her. This was Ruth’s request that Boaz be her kinsman redeemer and marry her. The short of it is that he said yes! A glimmer of God’s redemption.

A few nights ago as I was saying my nightly prayers I was praising God, Jesus and Holy Spirit individually for Who they are as the attributes came to mind. When I came to Jesus I thanked him for being my Kinsman Redeemer. I have never thanked Jesus for this and while he is my Redeemer I have never thought of him as my Kinsman Redeemer.

One of my friends and I are praying for two sweet and special ladies who are going through a similar challenge. As I was thanking Jesus for being my Kinsman Redeemer he showed me that he places the edge of his robe over these two sweetie pies, who belong to Him and are His Bride and does the same for every believer in Christ.

Boaz and Ruth went on to have a son named Obed and Obed had a son named Jesse and Jesse had a son named David, who became a king; the king of Judah. There was a man, a distant relative of the king of Judah, named Joseph, who also came from the tribe of Judah and married a virgin named Mary and they had a son who became King. The Kinsman Redeemer. The full brilliance of God’s redemption.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Faith, God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Love, Redemption, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

