The War Room

 

Pray Computer Keys Showing Worship And Religion

A few nights ago I had the opportunity to watch the movie War Room, in short, a movie about a woman, Miss Clara, who devoted her life to prayer and taught other women her method of praying. In reality she was sharing her deep faith and trust in God that led to this fantastic prayer life.

Prayer is one of my passions. I have been praying to God since I was about 7 or 8 years old. I was raised in a different religion at the time but I had the faith of a small child that I was indeed praying to the God of heaven. I have dedicated times of prayer but mostly I talk to God all day long. Talking with Him helps me to feel connected to him.

But, let’s face it, at least for me, sometimes prayer can become a chore rather than a sweet and intimate time with the Lord.

I was reading through Ephesians 6:10-18, commonly known as, the Armor of God. In verse 18 we are instructed to pray in the Spirit on all occasions and with all kinds of prayers and requests.

I was taken by “pray in the Spirit” and did some investigating. I found that in the original Greek text Spirit means possessed, influenced or controlled by the power of the Holy Spirit in his knowledge, desire, deciding and acting.

Perhaps what causes prayer to become chore like is the fact that we are not asking the Holy Spirit to influence our prayers with his power in his knowledge, desire, deciding and acting. This is so simple! I think the challenge is that in order to allow the Holy Spirit to influence us we have to surrender our will, our thoughts, our prayers and what the outcome of our prayers might look like. We have to place our trust in an unseen God with the faith he has blessed us with for the words given to us by the Holy Spirit in prayer.

Precious One, I am starting today to pray in the Spirit, in his knowledge, desire, deciding and acting and waiting expectantly with great anticipation in my soul for the answer to my prayers. Will you?

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. Ephesians 6:18

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in God's Word, Inheritance, Prayer, Sword, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The War Room

  1. Big difference, Terese, between the struggle of praying ourselves and praying in the Spirit. Let us both embody that pray from today forward in all our prayers!

Leave a Reply

