Touched By An Angel

festival-dancers_zJHtYPFdEver since I can remember, I have wanted to see angels. I am a visual person and there are a lot of things about God’s word that I desire to ‘see’. Angels is one of them.

God’s word has several instances, that are recorded, of others being approached by angels. Take Mary for instance, Jesus’ mother, she was approached by the angel Gabriel, who said to her, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.” and told she would conceive a child and name him Jesus and he would be the Son of the Most High.

Right before Mary’s encounter with Gabriel, Scripture tells us that Gabriel spoke to Zechariah, the husband of Elizabeth, who was Mary’s cousin and told Zechariah that Elizabeth would became pregnant with John the Baptist. Gabriel said to Zechariah, “Do not be afraid, Zechariah; your prayer has been heard.”

One of my favorite encounters is when an angel of the Lord approaches Gideon and greets him with, “The LORD is with you, mighty warrior.” Is it just me or how cool is that, that the angel of the Lord greets Gideon as a mighty warrior?!

I’ve never really stopped to ponder the reactions of those approached by angels in God’s word until now. Mary was troubled by the angels words, Zechariah was startled by the appearance of Gabriel and Gideon, oh Gideon, he carried on a conversation with the angel as if it was the most natural thing to do! Maybe that is why his angel encounter is one of my favorites!

Yesterday I was leaving the grocery store, (I’m not sure what it is about grocery stores, but God always invites me into his work there!), and as I was getting ready to cross the parking lot to my car, out of the corner of my eye I saw a lady sitting on a bench in front of the store. I didn’t even make full eye contact with her but somehow she knew I had seen her. She very quietly asked me for a quarter. The first peculiarity is that I actually heard her quiet request crystal clear. As I reflect now, the second peculiarity is that she asked for only a quarter. I immediately told her that I did have a quarter and began to take out my wallet. Before she began to walk toward me she said, “I’m sorry, please forgive me.” I told her there wasn’t anything for her to be sorry about. As she approached me she did so with a slight limp. I asked if I could pray with her and instantly she grabbed both my hands, held tight and bowed her head. Before I began to pray I asked her name and what happened to her leg. I prayed a simply prayer of God’s love, provision and healing touch upon her.

Here is peculiarity number three, from the time this sweet woman approached me until now this thought keeps running through my mind, “This is an angel, this is an angel.” Even as I was praying, I was thinking, “This is an angel.”

Precious One, may you remain alert and aware, who knows but God, that some days you may be touched by an angel.

 

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by this some have entertained angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13:2.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Angels, Blessings, Faith, God's Ambassador's, God's Word, Hope, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Touched By An Angel

  1. M. CALM says:

    I always stop and ponder on that verse in Hebrews 13:2. I can’t just rush by it. There is truly something quite intriguing about that verse that makes you stop and think.

    But yes, I agree, dear Terese. How amazing it would be to encounter an angel of the Lord! Yet, I think I’d fall as dead on my face if I saw one in their true form.

    Do you think, maybe, your encounter with this woman was a test (of compassion)??

    • mwitasblog says:

      I also think this scripture about entertaining angels unawares is all about having a compassionate heart towards people.

    • Terese says:

      Sweet Mella and Dear Zacaria, thank you for stopping by to read and comment. I agree with you, I believe the Scripture in Hebrews as well as cross reference Scripture has a deep theme of giving of oneself and compassion as Christ does. I also believe there is a supernatural aspect that leads back to the story of Abraham when he entertained angels, at first, unaware. Some commentators even believe that one of those angels was Christ himself, wow! Have a wonderful day and a blessed rest of your week!

  2. The True Light! says:

    Helping in these particular situations is always a difficult call. People say help by offering to buy food or drink for them. I used to see if they would be will to do something like wash my car window so it would be like paying a worker for a job done.

    But so many times I see the same people in the same places, sometimes a year or two at a time and can’t help feel I’m being scammed! I judge now by my “gut feeling” on a case by case basis. Most of the time I don’t even carry cash, I use ATM’s, etc. so I really don’t have money.

    I’m not sure what the right answer is to be honest, Terese…

    Steve

Leave a Reply

