Talk About It

The word LOVE highlited in the dictionary. Shallow focusWhen I was little I use to love to talk – a lot. Okay, maybe talking is just what I like to do even now as an adult. I grew up in the free love and peace of the seventies, that would be the 1970’s. And, as decades go the 70’s was not one of my favorites. None the less, during this time many parents still practiced ‘children are to be seen and not heard.’ At least mine did to some extent, greater than less.

My paternal grandmother was a little, itty, bitty, stern Italian woman who immigrated to her new Country from the Old Country  with her husband to start their new life and family. She use to love to say in Italian that she didn’t understand English, which is funny because in English she would call me a talking machine!

Yesterday was Thanksgiving in our Country and we were invited to celebrate with an amazingly gracious family. They were loud, there was laughter and most of all there was love. There was one other thing, they love to talk! All of this reminded me of our family get togethers when I was younger.

As I was having individual conversations throughout the night I sensed it wasn’t my time to talk but to simply listen. Sometimes we talkers are not good listeners, something Holy Spirit and I are working on! I realized something I have known and that made the shift from my head to my heart; everyone has a story and everyone wants to be heard.

As I reflect on these thoughts this morning I am reminded of James 1:19,20.

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.

These verses are some good food for thought as we make our way through leftovers for the next several days.

Precious One what would the world look like if we practiced being quick to listen and slow to speak? Perhaps there would be less anger and more love.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Behavior, Blessings, Contentment, Depending on God, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope, Identity, Inheritance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

