Born To Say Those Words

 

The word saltI have uttered many words over the course of my life, and some not so desirable. In high school, back when we use to walk to and from school regardless of the distance, I would stop to pick up one of my friends, who would endure that very long walk with me.

One day this friend decided I needed to pay him a quarter for every swear word that came out of my mouth, because, apparently, I could swear like a sailor. Here was a guy, telling me, a girl, I had a problem. I’m sure you can appreciate the severity of that situation. Unfortunately, the quarter system didn’t last long.

And speaking of sailors, it wasn’t until I met my husband, that I began to clean up my language. He taught me and showed me what respecting myself looked liked simply by his display of respect toward me with his actions and his words. I am truly a blessed woman!

These days I am an encourager. Encouraging others with words that lift spirits and bring smiles to faces is a part of my identity in Christ. It is a very natural thing for me. Many times I don’t even realize I am encouraging until the words have left my lips.

Now, I know there are many people who have a hard time accepting words of encouragement. My encouragement to you is to look at this from the perspective as a blessing from God. He loves you so much he wants you to know through the words he has given another to express to you. Also, I would encourage you to remember that we encouragers really can’t help ourselves. Words of encouragement burn deep inside of us until they are released.

After all, we were born to say those words.

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. Ephesians 4:29.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, Blessings, Depending on God, Faith, Grace, Identity, Uncategorized, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Born To Say Those Words

  1. The True Light! says:

    This one really resonates with me as I have had a similar experience in life. I too am a natural “encourager” which is the gift from God I use the most. However, I need encouragement myself from time to time as we all do. And it is not accomplished with improper language!

    A good reminder and a nice, honest share about yourself Terese! Good for your husband too…

    Steve

  2. Thanks for your blog and encouraging others! I also had to change my vocabulary and can relate to many of your posts. LOL! (Gotta love the one line verse of scriptures that are simple, yet very powerful!) Thanks for visiting my blog as I hope it provides encouragement to you as well.

    Be Blessed – Akilah

    • Terese says:

      Akilah, such a beautiful name! Thank you for stopping by to read and follow Hope For Today and for your encouraging words! Love how Holy Spirit gets straight to the point, at times, with those powerful one line Scriptures!

      Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

