The Privilege Of Prayer

hands-pack-2-4This morning one of my sweet friends messaged me a prayer request and I messaged her back with a prayer for her request. This led me to reflect about why I pray. For obvious reasons because God’s word says by prayer and supplication make all your requests known to God and his peace that transcends all understanding will guard your heart and mind. (Philippians 4:6-7).

As I think about these verses I realize I don’t pray because of what I will receive from God, I pray simply because his word tells me too. Yes, I am a bit of a rule follower, hey, every family needs one! But, I don’t look at this in a legalistic rule following kind of way. As I reflect further I also realize that my reasons for praying are quite honestly selfish.

Praying makes me feel close to God. I like the way I feel when I pray. When I pray it’s just me and God, even though many other people could be praying at the same time that I am, but in that moment it is just me and God. It’s as if I am an only child, which I know isn’t the case, but God has a way of doing that with his kids! That I also receive his peace when I pray is a beautiful gift from a good, good Father.

Praying also reminds me Who God Is. Praying reminds me how powerful a weapon God has entrusted to us to do his kingdom work.

I remarked to another friend that many times God will show me things I don’t necessarily need to know and when I ask him why his answer is always the same, “So you’ll pray.” Think about that for a moment. God shows us things not because we are entitled to know but because he trusts us to pray! That adds another skip to my step!!

Precious One it is a privilege and honor to pray for others. Who will you be in prayer for today? Ask God to show you!

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Blessings, Depending on God, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Privilege Of Prayer

  1. The True Light! says:

    A very good post on prayer, Terese. It is important to pray for others and do so from a sincere heart. We’ve all been in situations when we needed and appreciated prayer and it is right that we return that “privilege” to others. I’m beginning to see why the Lord says to pray without ceasing…we have so many things to pray for and about!

    Steve

    • Terese says:

      Indeed we do Steve, especially in these current times! Daily Holy Spirit reminds me that I am not of this world, simply a sojourner until he calls me home! Blessings for your day!

Leave a Reply

