Oh Dory

images

image courtesey of life-sea.blogspot.com

I am a big fan and proponent of reading and studying God’s word on a consistent basis, like everyday consistent. Part of this is because God has called me to be a teacher of his word. He has given me a passion to study his word. I would love to be able to spend hours and hours a day traipsing through his word and listening to what he has to say to me.

Some of it is because when I am in God’s word I can’t get enough of him. I am a visual learner, and, oh man, how awesome it would be to have a burning bush experience like Moses! To see God as a flame and to audibly hear his voice. So when I am in his word I ‘see’ him through his word.

But mostly it is because when I’m not in his word I can be like Dory the adorably sweet yet absent-minded fish from “Finding Nemo.” If I’m not staying connected to God it is, “Yes, Lord.” “Oh, look!” “What is that pretty shiny thing over there?!” I can forget some really important things. Like who is really for me.

What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:31.

Or, I don’t have to fight the challenges and struggles of life in my own power.

The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still. Exodus 14:14.

Shiny things can make me forget my true identity.

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 1 Peter 2:9.

God uses his word to gently correct and discipline me. If I’m not staying connected to him consistently I can tend to look at his correction as punishment instead of the Father’s love that it is.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:17,18.

And I can certainly forget how great His power is. Great isn’t even a word that can begin to describe the magnitude of his power. And, that this great power lives in me by his Spirit simply because I believe in his beloved Son, Jesus Christ.

You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world. 1 John 4:4.

Precious One, you are the branch of the Vine, water your soul well with his word. Stay connected.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Blessings, Depending on God, Faith, God's Goodness, God's Word, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope, Identity, Love, Spiritual Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

