No Rest For The Blessed

sign direction new life - old life made in 2d software

Earlier today I had just sat down to relax after a very busy morning when I received a text from my youngest lovebug asking if I would come and pick her up. As I stood up to leave I said, “No rest for the blessed.” My husband asked me if I had just made that up and I told him yes, or at least I think I did! My son said, “What are you talking about?” I asked him if he had ever heard the saying ‘no rest for the wicked?’ He acknowledged that he had and I told him that I’m not wicked I’m blessed so I changed the saying. To which I promptly received an eye roll.

I told my son that many times we forget the power behind words and that God’s word says that our words can either bring life or death. So I wasn’t going to speak any power of the word wicked into my life and instead chose to speak the truth of being blessed.

Holy Spirit has really been challenging me with this. So many times we say things in jest and don’t realize the power of the spoken word to cause harm or good. For instance, if I a-heart-made-of-words-i-love-you-in-many-languages_f1tFaY_Owere to tell you that you are a kind and loving person you would probably feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Those are words of life! But, if I were to tell you that you’re wrong and don’t know how to do things right that would probably make you feel sad and defeated. Those are words of death.

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit. Proverbs 18:21.

Figuratively, the word fruit means everything done in true partnership with Christ. We as believers are the branch attached to Christ the vine. As we remain connected to Christ the fruit of our words through Him produce eternal fruit.

fruits-vectors-designs_GJqnIkYuPrecious One, God has given us a great responsibility in our tongues. Use yours wisely. Choose life.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Rest For The Blessed

  1. M. CALM says:

    That is a great reminder, Terese! If you don’t mind sharing your blessing, I think I’ll start saying that too 😉

    Have a most blessed day!
    – Mella

Leave a Reply

