What’s That You Say?

I love God’s sense of humor! When my mom was alive she would always say, “God willing” in response to me saying, for example,”see you later ma”, and for some reason it really use to annoy me.

Inshallah 2

My oldest daughter is studying abroad in Jordan this semester and the second word she has taught me is the Arabic word ‘inshallah’. One of the meanings of inshallah is, yes, you guessed it, God willing! I am drawn to this word, especially because I see how God inserts himself, perhaps unknowingly to others, into the language of other cultures and every time this word is uttered He is praised and worshipped!

Yesterday I was talking with a friend at church. She was asking about my daughter and how she was coming along in learning Arabic. She was telling me how she feels drawn to learn another language. Immediately Holy Spirit began to encourage her. Out of my mouth came something like this; “What comes to mind is the gift of speaking in tongues. I know this is a spiritual gift meant for a specific reason, but just like the people who were gathered with the Jews during Pentecost heard what was being said in their own language, how awesome it would be to give the gospel message to others in their own language, in their own tongue!”

I’m still processing the correlation of speaking in tongues to learning another language to share the gospel message. Perhaps this is a movement of Holy Spirit to debunk the fear some experience around the gift of speaking in tongues and compare this gift to simply learning another language.

And to think this started way back when with my mom always saying, “God willing!”

Precious One, inshallah!

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Faith, God Willing, God's Ambassador's, God's Goodness, Holy Spirit, Hope, Identity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s That You Say?

  1. M. CALM says:

    That is funny, Terese… I also say, “God willing,” quite often 🙂 I agree, God does indeed have a great sense of humour–the best one! The Lord actually reminded me not long ago that He laughs WITH His children, never AT them. How great is our God! Have a most blessed day, Terese! Also, it is very admirable that your daughter is learning Arabic. Can’t imagine it’s an easy language to learn.

    • Terese says:

      Yes, Mella He does laugh WITH his children. He takes such great delight in us! Thanking for stopping by. It has been quite a humbling experience for my daughter. The students have taken a partial vow of silence until they learn to speak Arabic. Enjoy your day as well with all God’s blessings for you!

  2. The True Light! says:

    A lesson on “Lord willing” is taught in (James 4:15). I too used to be a bit bothered by it years ago, but now I realize it is simply a fact of this life! Everything comes to us as a result of the Lord’s will!

    Thanks for the post Terese, a very good one indeed!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

