The Appearance Of A Blessing

birthday_1100012909-012914-intLast week, even though I stayed in communion with my precious Jesus, I was in a bit of a funk. I was trying very hard not to fall down that dark hole where negativity boldly lurks, mockingly in front of the shadows. By Thursday I was crying out to Papa specifically asking Him to have a friend text or call me. The following day a sweet friend of mine, who is a newer believer in Christ, sent me a text with a beautiful prayer, which was exactly what I needed to hear. The day I received this text was also my Birthday and by the end of the day I was overwhelmed and inundated with such warm Birthday wishes and a sweet time spent with my husband and our three children, all of whom were under one roof – the kids, and not very common these days!

Scripture beautifully speaks this verse to us.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11.

You see, that longing we many times feel in our heart, God put it there and he longs to fill it. Many times we choose to fill that longing with other things; over eating, excessive shopping, excessive behavior, but these things are simply a temporary fix. Only God can fill this longing. This longing is eternity and one of the deepest desires of our heart and soul is to be with our Creator, in eternity. How gracious is God that while we are still here on earth he fills this longing if we allow him to?

I believe one of the biggest misconceptions of a blessing is that it comes in the form of a monetary windfall. But, what if God’s blessing was causing you to be late for an appointment and you missed being in an accident? What if a blessing came because of a loss of a job and God has something even better waiting for you, but you were too afraid to let go so he did it for you? What if a blessing comes as a result of many fallen tears?

I know this is a cliché, but be thankful for your many blessings. Be alert to how they are exquisitely wrapped and how elegantly they are delivered just for you.

Only God can fill the longing in your heart.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Blessings, God's Goodness, Grace, Hope, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Appearance Of A Blessing

  1. vw1212 says:

    happy belated bday. vw

  2. secretangel says:

    Terese, beautiful post… and Happy Belated Birthday! As I read your words, I thought of this song and thought I would share. For years, I could not listen to this song because I would cry like a baby. But these words are so true, just like you said about blessings… God bless you!!

Leave a Reply

