My Intimacy Quest Continues

Photo Credit K. McGowen

Photo Credit K. McGowen

Metal cross on grunge backgroundI have been blogging about finding deeper intimacy with God and asking God what this looks like for my life. At first God seemed to be silent on the matter, which disappointed me a bit because what started this quest to find deeper intimacy with God was the result of me feeling there is so much more to my relationship with Him. I felt like I had hit a brick wall then suddenly Holy Spirit open the floodgates and daily I am finding new treasures He has set out for me, like going on a treasure hunt finding clue after clue of where the treasure hides!

Yesterday I was standing in front of one of our book shelves and my eyes spotted our devotionals, the small “Jesus Calling” size devotionals. I went to reach for one and thought, “no, I want to read this one instead”, but my hand went for the first one intended.

Here is an excerpt of today’s devotion:

“People don’t lose intimacy when they stop talking, but when they stop listening. Leaders seldom realize how much their listening empowers the other person. Because they are leaders, the sheer act of listening speaks volumes that even a great speech can’t communicate.” John Maxwell

In my experience this is just like Holy Spirit. When you ask God a question be prepared to receive an answer(s)! It has also been my experience that God always goes above and beyond what we ask of Him. Why? This goes back to something I am passionate about; our relationship with God, which by the way, doesn’t just happen. Just like our earthly relationships, which both parties give care and concern too in order for the relationship to be a relationship, our relationship with God desires care and concern. Besides, I believe God loves to bless us just because we are his kids! I know I love to bless my kids just because I love them beyond compare.

However, what is the deeper meaning of God blessing us? One of my favorite Psalms is Psalm 37:4:

Delight yourself in the LORD; And He will give you the desires of your heart.

What this Psalm expresses is that when we delight in God by nurturing and giving care and concern to our relationship with him, he gives us the desires of our heart, because we make room for him to place his heart over our heart and his desires become our desires. This ties back to more intimacy with Him. This requires us to surrender more of ourselves to him; giving him our desires, our hopes, our plans.

Our choice didn’t end when we chose Jesus. Every day we get to choose to nurture our relationship with Him. I mean really nurture our relationship with him. Asking him to show us what He wants our relationship with Him to look like.

Perhaps this is what the Chronicler meant in 1 Chronicles 22:19:Reading  glasses on bible text

Now devote your heart and soul to seeking the LORD your God.

Precious One God wants to be intimate with you. He’s simply waiting for you to ask!

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Blessings, God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Hope, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

