My Radical Thought For Today #1

I Love You Key Shows Loving Or Romance Online

Hello Friends! It has definitely been a while since I last blogged. I hope all is well with you and yours!

I had a radical thought this morning. But first, let me back up and fill in the flowery, fluffy bits and pieces on the trail to how this thought came to me. I am after all an expressive and we love flowers and fluff!

Several weeks ago I began asking God what it looks like to be more intimate with him because I’ve been feeling that there is more that I desire in my relationship with him. This past Sunday during worship, wait, let me back up. Before worship began our Worship Pastor said some very encouraging words that I really appreciated. He told us we would be worshipping with a song that maybe some of us didn’t feel was true for our life right now; that it was okay and to ask God to help us understand – I am paraphrasing.

During one of the worship songs I realized that to be more intimate with God I need to surrender more of me to Him, except I wasn’t sure what that should look like. At the time what I saw was a stark white room and that was all there was. Since Sunday God has been showing my daily, sometimes more than daily what it looks like to be more intimate with him through surrendering more of myself to him.

One of the things he showed me yesterday, through a book I finished reading, of all things, is that I need to surrender what my perception of unconditional love looks like toward others. Wow, saying this out loud and for all the world to read seems even more selfish on my part than simply talking about this with God. None the less, I love seasons of transformation, they aren’t fun to go through but the hope the outcome holds is oh, so much sweeter than we can even imagine. all-purpose-bright-frangipani-card-in-vector-format_MkM1T7s_It’s like working in a garden full of weeds, once the weeds are pulled and discarded we are able to view the beauty of the garden unhindered. I know there is so much more to my relationship with God and I want to do what it takes to pursue all he wants to give while I’m still here on earth. There is so much value in giving care and concern to nurturing our relationship with God. This is an exciting season for me even though I know there is much hard work ahead of me.

This brings me to my radical thought for today. On my way home from the gym I saw a young friend, whose parents use to worship with us and be a part of our faith family gatherings. I started thinking about my friends who have left to worship at different ‘churches’ and here’s the radical thought: Ought we take a field trip of sorts ever now and then to other faith family gatherings to bring and share with them what God’s blessings are for us and to receive and bring back from them their blessings? Think about this, we all worship the same one true God just in different physical locations. Every believer is a part of the same family of Christ. It isn’t one faith family against another faith family, we are all united through the love of Jesus Christ!

To be intimate with God means to cross over denominational lines; to cross over the invisible lines that separate the physical locations of all faith families and simply love one another in unity in Christ. Indeed, we are called to do this!

By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another. John 13:35.

colorful-lines-net-background_z1bf8AP_Precious Ones, love deeply, love intimately, love across the lines.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Grace, Holy Spirit, Kingdom of God, Love, Trust, Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

