Who Holds All Your Tomorrows?

Over the past several weeks our Pastor has been gently encouraging us to give each day the Lord when we wake up.

Who What Why Keys Show ConfusionYesterday, like most days, was busy and filled with many things to take care of but I remembered to give my day over to God. Things were moving along and I was accomplishing many of the tasks I had planned. Actually, I was multitasking but that is a different blog for a different day! About one in the afternoon our internet went out. I was doing all the normal protocol; unplugging the modem, resetting the modem and finally I called our servicer to remotely reset the modem. Didn’t get that far, the nice lady on the recording promptly told me that service was out in our area and would be restored by 4:30. Now what was I going to do?! Oh, trust me, I had plenty but I was so focused on finishing the task at hand that my brain couldn’t switch over to anything new, so, I painted my nails. Thankfully, our service was finally restored at 7:30 last night.

This morning I again gave my day to the Lord and within seconds of doing so I received a text from one of my dear friends asking if I would like to join her, as she was going to the house of another friend of ours. “Yes”, I said, “I would love to take a break and join you.” When we arrived at our friends house, no sooner than we had stepped into the front door my husband called me. I knew immediately something was up because he calls me on his way home from work and it was too early for that. He called to tell me that our 18 year old son had been in an accident, a fender bender but he and the other driver were okay and yes, it was our son’s fault. After I hung up with my husband I called my son, who had tried three times to call me, but I didn’t hear my phone, poor thing, my heart hurt that I wasn’t able to answer his call and be ‘there’ for him. After I made sure that, yes, in fact he was okay and he didn’t need me to come and get him we hung up. I was struck by the thought that had I not given my day to the Lord I most likely would not have had the peace and calm that I felt at hearing my child was in an accident.

God knew what today and all my days hold for me, I do not. The simple act of asking God to order my day helped remind me that he knew what would/will happen today and that He is at the center of it all. He goes before me and he is my rear guard.

“I may not know what tomorrow holds, but I know who holds tomorrow.” .

My son is home and I am so happy to give him a hug and reassure him that this too shall pass. And, after his explanation of what happened and seeing the after pictures, I know my Papa was right there watching over him. It could have been a much worse situation than it was.

Every day I pray over our family that no weapon forged against us shall prosper and we will refute every tongue that accuses us! Thank you Jesus that the weapon of this accident has not prospered!

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Depending on God, God's Goodness, Grace, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

