My Word Is Sabbath

24 hours delivery sign.I often think back to life during the 70’s and 80’s, before this crazy 24/7/365 world we have created. A time when if you needed gas for your car you had better make it to the gas station before 6:00pm the latest or you would be out of time and most likely out of gas. And, if it was a year of oil rations you would probably find yourself in a bind. Back to a time when “what is Black Friday and Cyber Monday?” would be valid questions. Back to a time when most business establishments were closed on Sundays, yes, even the grocery stores.

As a side note, I do not look fondly on the 70’s.  Though I was a young girl and teen during this time, I was not a fan of the hippie free love movement. My oldest brother was a hippie and drug addict during this era and my family and I experienced first hand some of the worst of this movement. As Providence would have it, my oldest brother was also the first sapphire-encrusted-peace-sign-in-vector-format_GJ1dEEjuto come to know Jesus in the 80’s and soon became the family evangelist. A visit could not be had with him without hearing the gospel message in some fashion. We didn’t have caller i.d. back then and so we took our chances when answering the phone because if it was my brother you were going to hear about Jesus one way or another. I miss that about him, heck I just miss hearing his voice. Sadly, he passed before knowing that some in our family have also chosen Christ as their Lord and Savior and have the hope of seeing him again one day in Paradise. He died in Paradise, really, in Paradise, CA. Isn’t that just like God?!

Back to sabbath. Sabbath is a way in which our living pattern imitates God’s. In that work is followed by rest. Sabbath was what God did after he finished creating earth and everything in it.

By the seventh day God completed His work which He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done. Genesis 2:2.

Keeping the Sabbath is the fourth command of the Ten Commandments. It is part of the Mosaic Law; the Law of Moses. As believers in Christ we are no longer covered by the Law, we now live by the power of the Spirit. The Law is still pertinent and active today and shows those who do not know Jesus as Lord and Savior, their need for Him. For those who already believe it is the power of Holy Spirit and his conviction in us to live a life of righteousness according to his will. (2 Corinthians 3:7-11).

Some of my friends have been posting on another social media website a single word they believe God has given them to meditate and live by for this new year. As I pondered this, I realized my word is Sabbath. Holy Spirit actually began speaking to me about a Sabbath day last year and my desire to practice this has grown in intensity. So, while I’m not one to make New Year resolutions, my goal is to practice having a weekly sabbath. To work hard six days a week and rest on the seventh day, just like God did. What better way to model my life than after the One who gives life?!

Sea of Galilee

The Sea of Galilee taken by my cousin B. Passentino.

Whatever this new year holds for you, I wish for you the deepest Shalom in Christ Jesus.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Blessings, Depending on God, God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Identity, Inheritance, Kingdom of God, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Word Is Sabbath

  1. vw1212 says:

    More truth in this than is understood by many, thanks for the reminder. vw

Leave a Reply

