It’s A Party!

Party poppers on whiteIn 1982 actor Laurence Tureaud coined the phrase, “I pity the fool!”, with his role as boxer Clubber Lang in the movie “Rocky III”. We know him more readily as Mr. T., well you will most likely know who I am talking about if you are as old or older than me!

Pity is the feeling of sorrow and compassion caused by the suffering and misfortunes of others.

A pity party is an instance of feeling sorry for oneself and/or seeking pity from other people.

This morning I came across this:

Yet I curse the day I was born! May the day of my birth not be blessed. I curse the messenger who told my father, “Good news-you have a son!”  Let him be destroyed without mercy. Terrify him all day long with battle shouts, for he did not kill me at birth. Oh, that I had died in my mother’s womb, that her body had been my grave! Why was I ever born: My entire life has been filled with trouble, sorrow, and shame. Jeremiah 20: 14-18.

Goodness, that is a whole lot of pity partying going on! Jeremiah was upset at the job God have given him to do. Jeremiah spent most of his ministry speaking pending doom over Israel and Judah. He was unpopular among his peers and contemporaries and his prophecies were unwelcomed messages. The Israelites were in a perpetual cycle of rebelling against God, then turning back to God and then rebelling again. In essence they loved living in their sin more than they loved God and the desire to obey Him. Jeremiah was sent to give them message after message of their consequences if they chose to continue down a path of sin. They would hear none of it and even plotted to kill Jeremiah.

By the time we get to Jeremiah 20: 14-18, we read that Jeremiah had enough. He was having a pity party and complaining to God. He cursed the day he was born and the messenger that told his father of his birth, saying, “my entire life has been filled with trouble, sorrow and shame.”

Have you ever been there? Smack dab in the middle of a pity party or have someone in your life who always seems to look at the cup half empty? Pity parties and I use to be quite good friends, until one day Holy Spirit began showing me that attending a pity party put the focus on me and took the focus off of God.

Pity parties are about pride and pride is sin. So, while Jeremiah was prophesying against the Israelites and their continued sin, he himself was sinning by having a pity party! Do you see God’s love here? God was gently showing Jeremiah the sin in his own life by allowing Jeremiah to have a pity party, while at the same time sending him to give messages to the Israelites about their own sin. I have found that God works in my life to show me sin and the area’s that ought to change by allowing me to teach what I most need to learn.

Pity parties and I are no longer friends and when I feel them trying to get a foot hold into my life again, I call upon Holy Spirit for his help because that is the only way for me to avoid falling deep into a party that I have no business attending.

Believe it or not, Mr. T.’s “I pity the fool!”, is actually a form of tough love and a technique he uses to motivate others to make positive change(s) in their life.

Precious One, it isn’t about you, it is, has always been and will always be about serving the One true God, however that looks like in your life. And, you can be sure that He loves you beyond your imagination. Many times God’s love is tough because of his great love for you. Don’t be a fool and play into the hand of pity. Know that God will never leave you nor forsake you.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in Behavior, Depending on God, God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

