Oh For The Love Of Glasses

Last year I had gotten a new pair of glasses. Oh how I loved these glasses. They were a beautiful medium brown and were a retro cat eyed shape with modern sleekness. While they were mostly for reading, I did have a small prescription for distance, which was new for me. They also served as my sunglasses, as they were transition lenses. The perfect pair of glasses, functional and stylish. I wish I had a picture to show, but they were stolen. Oh, don’t be feeling sorry for me, it is my own fault.

You see, my family and I were out to dinner and as we were walking through the parking lot I very clearly heard the Holy Spirit say to me, “put your glasses on your head.” (I didn’t have my purse with me), I very disobediently said, “I’m having a good hair day I am not putting my glasses on my head.” We walked into the deli style restaurant, which is small with maybe four or five tables, we ordered our food and sat down to wait. For some reason I took my glasses off and placed them on the table. We then got up and went to get our drinks, while we waiting for our food, and sat down at a different table. After a few minutes I realized my glasses were not on my face, my hand flew up to my head, “oh no, they weren’t there either!” Of course they weren’t, I had just told the Holy Spirit I wasn’t going to put them there even though that is where I place them every other time I take them off for a few minutes. I went back to the original table we had been sitting at and they were gone! Now, remember this is a small eating area, they couldn’t have gone far. I asked the couple sitting at the table next to where I had set them down if they saw my glasses and they told me no.

I went back to the table where my family was sitting, dejected. I was upset but trying very hard not to let anyone else but my family see, when someone I know catches my attention and proceeds to say hello and talk for a few minutes. How embarrassing! I’m sure she saw the whole episode unravel and I was completely unaware of her and her family sitting at the table across from us!

I confessed and repented from my behavior to the direct guidance of the Holy Spirit and asked a few friends to pray that someone would turn the glasses into the restaurant. I gave the restaurant my phone number, in case someone turned them in and even called once a week for awhile, hoping that they would show up. But they never did.

Throughout the following months, whenever I have been tempted not listen to the Holy Spirit’s guidance, he has reminded me of the theft of my glasses. I can assure you, no matter how small or inconsequential I have felt a situation to be where I have felt his guidance, I have made the choice to listen AND follow his leading. Somewhat expensive, but I am learning.

20140906_100652-1 20140906_100730Here are some pictures of my new glasses, very similar to my other pair, except the frame on these is a beautiful deep lavender. You know where they will be when I’m not wearing them.

 

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. John 10:27

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

