At The Feet Of Jesus

Not long ago, I had an ‘aha’ moment. Actually, I have many ‘aha’ moments, but this particular moment came while I was reading Luke 10:41-42. I was working on a teaching and the Holy Spirit reminded me of these verses, and He guided me to the version in The Message. I don’t study from The Message but sometimes the Holy Spirit brings me there to further illuminate his word for me. Like the light from a lamp that is switched on; its brilliance fills the space it encompasses.

“The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.” Luke 10: 41-42 The Message.

2159-1013-A2201I have always felt that as Mary sat at the feet of Jesus it was to learn from Him. To hang on every word he said gaining his knowledge and wisdom, and while this may be true,  during this ‘aha’ moment I sensed the Holy Spirit saying to me, “she sat at My feet to receive from me.” Mary was modeling solitude. Simply being in the presence of God with no agenda, no prayer requests, no thoughts, no words, just quietness. Simply receiving his love. Do you love how Jesus describes himself? As the main course! And, don’t miss his promise to Mary, He won’t be taken from her! This promise is ours also, it is part of our inheritance in Him. For those who believe in Jesus as their Lord and Savior, He will never be taken from us. Hallelujah!

A few days after this ‘aha’ moment a friend asked me to preview a teaching she is giving later this year. Wouldn’t you know, this verse is part of her teaching?! Oh, but it gets better, as we discussed this teaching she commented that her sense was that there wasn’t any knowledge transfer from Jesus to Mary going on. Mary sat and freely received the love of Jesus, which he freely gave! It always amazes me when the Holy Spirit confirms for us what he is speaking to us. He doesn’t have to but chooses to do so. I hope that I am always amazed by this aspect of our relationship!

Here is what I believe the Holy Spirit wants us to feel deep in our soul:

“Solitude is sitting at the feet of Jesus receiving his lavish love. Being refilled and replenished by the Holy Spirit. Being at home with Jesus.” T.B.

Precious One, I bless you with the lavish love of Christ.

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Inheritance, Love, Uncategorized, Wisdom, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At The Feet Of Jesus

  1. Thank you for your heart. You might want to check my post 090114 – Stories Of Three Women In The Bible. The post is a sermon outline, but I think that it will give you some ideas. Thank you for following my blog. In the Name of Jesus.

    • Terese says:

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words, Equipping. I love Jesus’ heart for women, especially during his earthly ministry. Robin Mark is one of my new favorite artist!

      • Thank you for your heart for those who were the least of the world during the ministry of Jesus. It’s important to see in each account that Jesus had a very easy relationship with each of the women. He didn’t tell them the road to salvation. There was an intimacy between Jesus and each of the women The principle of John 17:3 can easily be seen in each case. Oh, well, so much for my sermon thought. Please have a blessed evening.

Leave a Reply

