Practice What You Teach

I was awakened this morning by a phone call. It was my husband, he was already at work. He called to tell me that our house had been egged, again. This is the second egging in three weeks. This time the eggers got a bit creative, using kid’s paint daubers to write on the windows of our cars. Apparently, they must have thought we would be hungry in the morning because they left us an empty box of baby cereal on the lawn. Unfortunately, they had sprinkled the cereal on our sidewalk and driveway. I am disappointed. The last time they left half a carton of eggs in the grass, which I promptly made hard-boiled eggs with AND they were organic. Score!

The first egging upset me but it was fleeting, maybe because I had already eaten before I went out to clean up the mess. I also learned how to set up and use my husband’s pressure washer without his assistance. Another score! The pressure washer is one of my new favorite toys, along with the electric garden trimmer. I asked my husband if I could have a Screenshot_2014-07-14-08-41-47-1matching pink pressure washer to sit by his red one in the garage. He offered to buy me a motorized one that I can sit in. I know, I was shocked there is such a thing!

This time, however, as I am outside setting up the pressure washer, realizing it isn’t starting because it is out of gas and that requires a trip to the gas station, I am telling God how ticked off I am, how ridiculous this is and if I was in the habit of swearing, I would probably have a few choice words to utter. All the while, I am doing all the talking, ranting really, and not much listening. Oh, I heard what the Holy Spirit was whispering to me, “It could have been worse.” “They used washable paint.” “They didn’t egg the cars.” In the moment, I chose not to acknowledge what He was saying.

When I finished my chore and came in the house I asked God, “What are you going to do about this?” “You go ahead of me in all circumstances, You are my rear guard.” As plainly as I can hear the song birds in our backyard, I heard Him say, “What I did was send them to you.” “I want you to pray for them.” Ah, here is where practice what you teach comes in.

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to teach at our third service at church. Part of the teaching was how it is sometimes hard to pray for what God is asking us to pray about. Sometimes God allows unfortunate circumstances, like one’s house being egged, because he has a job for us to do, and he chooses and trusts us to get the job done and he has already equipped us for what we need to do battle.

God has given each of us the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, which is alive and active and sharper than any double-edged sword. God’s word is sharper than any human sword will ever be, even when that sword is a carton of eggs and a box of baby cereal.

As the Holy Spirit gently brings me to a place of correction and repentance, I can see God’s heart more clearly. It saddens him to think about the many hungry children that could have been fed by the eggs and cereal that were wasted. How many meals could have been purchased with the money spent on the paint daubers? His heart is breaking and I can feel that in my own heart. I feel his sadness and the physical expression of that is my own tears.

There is one small bit of humor in all of this. It is the box of baby cereal. As I sat down to write this blog the Holy Spirit reminded me of 1 Corinthians 3:1-4a

20140714_093330-1 “But for right now, friends, I’m completely frustrated by your unspiritual dealings with each other and with God. You’re acting like infants in relation to Christ, capable of nothing much more than nursing at the breast. Well, then, I’ll nurse you since you don’t seem capable of anything more. As long as you grab for what makes you feel good or makes you look important, are you really much different than a babe at the breast, content only when everything’s going your way?” 1 Corinthians 3:1-4a The Message.

Thank you Holy Spirit for reminding me I was acting like a baby, not content because things weren’t going my way. Indeed, thank you for the blessing of knowing your heart, for choosing our family and giving us your sword.

So, if you’re reading this and you are the culprit(s), you can run but you can’t hide, God knows exactly where you are.  I thank the Holy Spirit for dropping his seed of salvation deep into your heart, where it takes deep root in fertile soil. I thank Jesus that you choose Him!

Shalom!

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, God's Ambassador's, God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Justice, Uncategorized, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Practice What You Teach

  1. Nice post. (smile) Blessings!!

  2. LOL! Hugs!! What a great post! A much needed reminder! Oh, how the Holy Spirit is quick to show us the way and oh, how much quicker we are to silence that much needed guidance in order to vent and let out frustration instead of heeding to His wisdom! God bless you!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

