Flowers and God’s Grace

“All human beings face challenge and pain and demands. Jesus, however, lived in a divine rhythm where grace was constantly flowing into him and then flowing out from him.” John Ortberg “Soul Keeping”

I always have identity in Christ on my mind. I love discovering it in God’s word and sharing with others. Encouraging myself and others in how God see’s us, who He says we are, which is completely different from what the world dictates who we should be. (what we ought to wear, who we ought to know, what we ought to do to get ahead, what we ought to own, etc.).

Photo credit: consciouslifestylesradioblog.com

Photo credit: consciouslifestylesradioblog.com

I love to read, and every now and then I’ll come across something that jumps out at me, excitedly waving its hands, like a child on a carousel, happily shouting, “look at me, look at me!”

And, so it is with grace in the above quote. As I read this quote the thought occurred to me that understanding and knowing our identity in Christ is one thing, perhaps the beginning of this journey to know who we are in Christ. Understanding and accepting His grace for our life can be another thing.

Here is what I mean by this. Our identity in Christ is grace, because it is by God’s grace we have been saved through faith in Jesus.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–Ephesians 2:8.

Our identity is in Jesus, Jesus is grace, grace is our identity.

The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. John 1:14

Is it possible to extend grace to others, yet struggle with accepting God’s grace for ourselves even when we acknowledge that grace is who we are in Jesus? I believe the answer is yes. I say this because I know in my head that God showers me with his grace, but I struggle to understand this in my heart. I believe there are others who struggle with this as well. Perhaps, that is why some still feel unworthy, shameful or guilty. All of which are complete lies from the pit! There is NO condemnation for those who believe in Jesus as their Lord and Savior, hallelujah!!

What is the root of this struggle? Is is pride? Perhaps. Is it fear? Maybe. As I ask these questions the Holy Spirit always brings me back the core foundation of my relationship with him, the importance of cultivating and nurturing a deep and intimate relationship with God. It is here, at the core, I believe, we hear the Holy Spirit speaking to our spirit, our heart, our soul, about who we are in Him. How to take knowing our identity in our head to understanding this in our heart.

What would it look like in your life, in my life, if we asked the Holy Spirit to overwhelm us

Photo Credit:  My beuatiful friend Hang Le.

Photo Credit: My beuatiful friend Hang Le.

with his grace, to give us more grace than we could handle? Do you see the layers of lies being plucked, ever so gently, away? Like a young child holding a flower and one by one plucking the petals off and saying, “he loves me, he loves me not, He LOVES me!”

crown3-111413-734Precious one, may your day and everyday be filled with the overwhelming grace of God. May you believe his grace is your identity deep within your soul, which longs to be in the very presence of Grace at all times.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Blessings, God's Goodness, Grace, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flowers and God’s Grace

  1. vw1212 says:

    He loves me. vw

  2. JcCee says:

    Very powerful post, Terese. I have struggled with feeling unworthy in the past for his love and it was just holding me back from cultivating my relationship with him. I am so glad that I do not feel like that anymore.

    • Terese says:

      Jc, praise God and thank you. It blesses me to hear that as you reflect back you no longer struggle with the lies of society and the enemy. I love God’s grace and everyday Holy Spirit teaches me something new about His grace for me and for others. God bless You!

  3. in567 says:

    I enjoyed reading this post again today, Terese. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

