My Sins Are Forgiven: Do I Still Need To Confess and Repent?

Many times I blog about revelations from the Holy Spirit from his word and love to share with others to encourage and offer hope. Tonight I am pondering this question; “If I am forgiven for all my sins do I still need to confess and repent?”

I believe that Christ died once and for all.

“For Christ also died for sins once for all, the just for the unjust, crossso that He might bring us to God, having been put to death in the flesh, but made alive in the spirit;” 1 Peter 3:18.

I also believe all our sins, past, present and future have been forgiven. Our position in Christ is forgiven, past tense.

“to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us.” Ephesians 1:6-8.

Indeed, God casts our sins as far as the east is from the west.

IMAG0775And as far as sunrise is from sunset,
he has separated us from our sins. Psalm 103:12 The Message.

Beloved, the hour you first believed all your sins were forgiven. There is no need to continually confess your past sins. However, and I believe there is a distinction to be made here, when present sin is brought to our attention it stands in the way or our fellowship with God and we ought to have the posture of confessing and repenting. Confessing; acknowledging to God we have sinned and repenting; turning away from that sin by the power of the Holy Spirit who lives in us.

Isn’t it an awesome wonder to be forgiven of all our sins while at the same time God offers the gift of confession and repentance, which brings us back into beautiful fellowship with him, that deep and intimate relationship?

Hand drawing heart in sand on the beach “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

Shalom!

 

 

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in God's Goodness, Grace, Holy Spirit, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Sins Are Forgiven: Do I Still Need To Confess and Repent?

  1. Tim Wong says:

    Thanks for your post! Jana forwarded me your post in relation to what was shared at church tonight. (This is Tim). Please don’t take this as challenging your post, but just to have more dialogue of ideas! = )

    I don’t think confessing our sins can be a bad thing overall, but it can lead us to put more focus on our sin and a sense of guilt when it’s continuous. This is especially true for Catholics. There is a sense of uncertainty because they still have sin in their life left unconfessed, and then are not in right standing with God anymore. I think that’s what makes Christianity different. What is the purpose of confessing our sins? I wonder if it is for the cleansing of our conscience vs having our sins removed? What comes to mind is:

    Hebrews 9:14
    How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!

    Hebrews 10:22
    let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.

    Overall, I wonder if a simple shift of mentality brings freedom to people’s lives when they don’t feel required to confess sins and feel “dirty” or unclean until they do. Another related mentality shift question is: Are we defined as sinners who struggle to be holy? Or saints who struggle with sin? Our mentality may determine our future. Paul shares that we are transformed by the renewing of our mind. Do I see myself a sinners or a saint? The impact of that mentality is seen over time.

    • Terese says:

      Tim,
      I welcome your dialogue! One of the beautiful aspects of community is learning and growing together.

      I understand your point that some may put more focus on sin and guilt rather than being forgiven. Perhaps it depends on where one is in their relationship with God?

      For me confession is acknowledging to God that I have sinned and repentance is asking the Holy Spirit to help me not sin again. I ask God regularly to show me the sin in my life so I can confess and repent. Once I have I don’t dwell on the sin because my identity is in Christ not the sin.

      If we continue in sin and choose not to acknowledge/confess to God does He allow consequences? Does confession restore our fellowship with God. Is fellowship broken because of unconfessed sin? Is a sincere heart cleansed because of confession? What about sanctification? As the Holy Spirit continues his refining in us does he skip over those things that are sin in our life or does he gently point them out so we can ask for his help in removing them?

      More questions!

      Thank you again for commenting, I look forward to continuing this dialogue and maybe more will join us!

  2. Terese, what an interesting post! I agree with both you and Tim about past sin and current conviction. Tim: I am a saint who struggles with sin because I am human; I rely on the Spirit to help guide me. Terese: “Once I have [confessed and repented] I don’t dwell on the sin because my identity is in Christ not the sin.”
    I must trust in the grace and mercy of God. If I focus my walk on sin, I chain myself all over again. Since Christ died for my freedom, I want to honor that in every way, so I walk in the Spirit; I walk in His love, not fear of sinning. “For perfect love casts out fear.”
    Thanks for getting my brain cells going this morning and my focus on Him!

    • Terese says:

      Hi Susan!

      I, too, am a saint who sins and hopefully not intentionally! I hope all is going well for you. Let me know if you want to get together for coffee/tea sometime soon!

  3. Hang Le says:

    Dear Terese,
    You never cease to amaze me… Thank you for all the beautiful and brilliant messages, they truly turn my day around.
    Hang

Leave a Reply

