Don’t Wait Until Your In The Belly!

Conversation Between 3d Characters Showing Communication And DiscussionHow many conversations do you have throughout the day? Who are you conversing with? Is it your spouse, your children, co-workers? Or maybe you enjoy talking on the phone with friends. Does your day include talking with God?

Prayer is talking with God, having a conversation with him, bringing to him your cares and concerns, your needs and desires, asking Him his guidance for your life, lifting the needs of others up to Him.

What causes you to pray? Is it part of nurturing your deep and intimate relationship with God, the love language you share with him? Or, do you pray when things are not going so well?

Thoughtful Girl Praying For HappinessI began a life of prayer with God when I was about 7 or 8 years old. I grew up in a religion knowing God and Jesus but not knowing that I had a choice to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I have prayed every day since I was 7 or 8, except for one night. It was 12 years ago and just before I gave my life to Jesus. I was laying in bed saying my nightly prayers and I asked God, “Do I really need to pray to you every night?” “What would happen if I stopped?” Immediately, I saw a picture of an open shutter of a camera and it snapped closed and I saw total darkness. Needless to say, I have continued in prayer! As I reflect back I wonder why God used the shutter of a camera to make his point? I am not much of a picture taker, oh, I like to take pictures, but I don’t have the gift of taking amazingly good pictures like some of you! The thought occurs to me that perhaps that is precisely why God used this picture, because it wasn’t something like “an old familiar coat”. He used something slightly obscure so that it would stand out.

The inspiration for today’s blog came after studying Jonah 2, particularly Jonah 2:1-3.

Then Jonah prayed to the Lord his God from the stomach of the fish, and he said,

“I called out of my distress to the Lord,             NX_ship_galleon_whale
And He answered me.
I cried for help from the depth of Sheol;
You heard my voice.
“For You had cast me into the deep,
Into the heart of the seas,
And the current engulfed me.
All Your breakers and billows passed over me. Jonah 2: 1-3

Jonah was a prophet, someone whose life, I would think, was steeped in constant prayer. God had asked him to do something and, being the human that he was and exercising his free will, he chose disobedience over God’s will and ended up in the belly of a very large fish. After three, mostly likely, terrifying days, Jonah admits his disobedience, finally calls out to God in prayer, and God causes the fish to deposit Jonah back onto dry land.

Beloved, please don’t wait until you are “in the belly of a fish” to spend time talking with God. Start or continue today to nourish your relationship with God through prayer. Ask Him what he wants to talk about, I am confident he will share his heart with you.

Shalom!

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Love, Prayer, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Wait Until Your In The Belly!

  1. Terese, just wanted to stop by and say, “Happy Fourth!”
    God does speak with us uniquely so we recognize His voice, doesn’t He? I love that about Him. Hope your weekend is filled with love, favor and laughter.

    • Terese says:

      Susan, hello and Happy 4th to you! Indeed he does, I too, love that about him. We know Him, therefore we know his voice! Hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

