Teaching God’s Word One Verse At A Time

Bible text on paper holeRecently, I was cautioned, by another believer and I’m sure, out of love, not to use individual Scripture to make a point. I agree that Scripture should not be taken out of context and that individual Scripture flows with the passage it is a part of. At the same time individual Scripture might be exactly what someone may need to hear at a particular time.

My spiritual calling is to teach God’s word. If I could sit and traipse through God’s word all day every day, following the Holy Spirit’s lead, I would! My passion is digging deeper and sharing with others what I believe the Holy Spirit is showing me. So this caution leaves me in a bit of a quandary. If I restrict myself from using any part of God’s word to influence the lives of others for Christ, then what do I use? Believe me, I take the words of James very seriously.

Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. James 3:1

In comparison, a friend shared with me that someone told them that it is not our responsibility to influence others for Christ. The Scripture that immediately came to mind  was Matthew 28:19

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Matthew 28:19

If we’re not meant to influence others for Christ then why did Jesus give us this command? Grant it, we do not influence others by our own volition. Rather, it is the power of the Holy Spirit that lives in us that empowers us to do so. If it isn’t our job to influence others for Christ then what is so good about the Good News and all that it contains?!

marketHow beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings good news, Who proclaims peace, Who brings glad tidings of good things, Who proclaims salvation, Who says to Zion “Your God reigns!” Isaiah 52:7

“It is a wonderful privilege to be able to share God’s Good News with others, his news of redemption, salvation, and peace.” Study notes Isaiah 52:7 NIV Life Application Study Bible. Sharing the Good News is sharing God’s word, whether it is a complete passage or single verse.

Are these two instances coincidental? Maybe, but I don’t think so. Why, as brothers and sisters in Christ, do we sometimes spend so much time discouraging each other instead of encouraging one another in our efforts to influence others with the Good News of Jesus Christ?!!

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved

Love one another. As I have loved you…..

you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples,if you love one another.” John 13: 34-35.

There is always the possibility that I misunderstood the caution given me, at the same time, using individual verses to make a point is how I am wired; how God created me. He speaks to me in single verses. When I’m ministering to others individual verses come to mind that I believe the Holy Spirit wants me to share. If I trust God then I have to trust that he has already opened the ears of the hearer and softened their heart to hear His words. His words of truth.

And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. John 8:32.

Shalom!

 

 

 

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Grace, Kingdom of God, Uncategorized, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Teaching God’s Word One Verse At A Time

  1. Kristine says:

    I believe your friend has gone overboard in his caution. Jesus used scripture to make points. If you didn’t give a verse or two, what would you give? An *idea*? A whole passage won’t necessarily show context unless one has studied further, essentially no more “safe.” As you said, of course it’s vital to know the context of the scripture that one shares; that should be the caution though, not discouraging the use of God-breathed scripture in teaching, sharing, encouraging, etc.

  2. vwoods1212 says:

    Oh wow; what happens when the Holy Spirit speaks a Rhema word into your heart by using a single scripture verse which speaks to that desperate situation you are going through? Or a as warning to something you just did and He needs to correct you? Is He taking it out of context. I truly don’t understand folks. My dear let the Spirit of God be your guide. In love, vw.

  3. Terese says:

    Kristine and VW, thank you so much for your encouragement. I am finding, as God expands His sphere of influence through my life, there will be criticism by others. I try to remember it isn’t about me. I am also finding that many dear brother and sisters struggle with past hurts and bondage that they are unwilling to allow God to heal or don’t know how to allow Him to heal. Let us join together to pray for the Body around the world! Thank for taking the time to stop by and read! God bless you both.

  4. "light and salt" says:

    I’m sure you are right about the “warning.” Sometimes, the truth is misapplied when taken out of context.

    However, as you say, sometimes people need to hear a “tidbit” of something to peak curiosity, and in so doing, you may get their attention. At that time, they are prepared to hear the full meaning of a passage or teaching.

    As for the one who said it wasn’t our place to influence people to the Lord, what I believe they meant to say was that we can’t “force feed” the gospel to anyone. We teach with as much truth as we can, and try to help in the persuasion process. But it is God who gives the increase…

    Some excellent points here, Terese…

    Steve Pejay

    • Terese says:

      Hi Steve,

      As always, I welcome your insight and your perspective! Agreed, it is always the Holy Spirit’s job to do the convicting. I know for me, in the past, I would get so hung up on doing the Holy Spirits job. What a great burden that was lifted when I realized my part is to speak truth into the lives of others, God does the increase! Thank you for stopping by. God bless you!
      Terese

      • "light and salt" says:

        “Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart…for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Mat. 11: 29-20)

        The harvest is plentiful and the workers few. However, we need to learn to allow the panoply of the God Head to work through our efforts.

        That makes our efforts in the Lord much easier! May God love and keep you as you do His will in service to others!

        Enjoy your day in Him, Terese…

        Steve 🙂

  5. ropheka says:

    I have numerous verses written dwn to guide me and Jesus himself quoted from Scripture. If it is god enough for him and we are to imitate him why not? Just do not take it out of context like so many do. For example children are to be onediant to parents while neglecting that parents are not to anger their children.

Leave a Reply

