Make A Cheerful Noise

174-musicWhen I was in sixth grade I sat in second seat in the flute section of our elementary school band. Other than that one experience, I am NOT musically inclined in any way, shape or form. Wait, I was a Song Girl in high school, but we didn’t sing, we danced and that is entirely another story! All the same, music moves me, especially worship music. When I am with my faith family and we are singing as one, it is an amazing 64925_4550652998757_2111394693_nexperience! Might I add that during these times I sound awesome…..in my mind! Thankfully and at least, God loves a cheerful noise however that may sound.

Last summer we were in a small airport waiting on a flight delay. I had my ear buds in and my worship music loud and was pinning or sharing from one website to another. Suddenly, I look up and my family is staring at me with a look somewhere in between embarrassment and horror. Yep, you guessed it, I was carried away and had begun to sing, out loud and apparently not so quietly.

King David dancing before the Lord with all his might. Image courtesy of jtbarts.com

King David dancing before the Lord with all his might. Image courtesy of jtbarts.com

Don’t you think God enjoys those moments with us? When it is just the two of us hanging out, having a good time and it doesn’t matter who else is around? It reminds me of the story of King David when he had returned from war and the Lord had made him victorious. He came back into town dancing before the Lord with all his might. Wearing a linen ephod. (2 Samuel 6:14). Here is one artists rendition of what David might have looked like. His first wife Michel accused him of going around half-naked and in front of the slave girls! Lord have mercy, what was he thinking? David’s response to Michel was simple, “I will celebrate before the Lord.” (2 Samuel 6:21b).

While I don’t encourage any of us going around “half naked” physically, I would like to suggest baring our hearts in full nakedness in worship to the Lord. Today and everyday I encourage you to celebrate before the Lord however the Spirit moves you! Freedom in Christ is part of your inheritance and the Spirit will NEVER misguide you!

Whoever is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels. Luke 9:26

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Behavior, Identity, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Make A Cheerful Noise

  1. vwoods1212 says:

    I think you might sound a little better than you think:) lol.

  2. "light and salt" says:

    Sing before the Lord…pour out praise to His matchless name! Great post, Terese…

    Steve Pejay

Leave a Reply

