Faith Not Political Correctness: Should Christians Stop Saying They Are Blessed?

I recently read an article that stated the one thing Christians should stop saying is that they are blessed in regards to material windfalls. I’ve been pondering this statement since I read it and now I’m asking why?

????????????

He died so we could live!

I am blessed. Blessed with the house we live in, the cars we drive, the clothes we wear and the food we eat. Why am I blessed with these material things? Because, none of it has anything to do with me. God is the One who provides for us abundantly through the job He chose for my husband, and when I say abundantly, I mean we have everything we need and many times some of the things we want. God is the One who gives my husband the ability to get up and commute every day to work.

Graciously saying we are blessed is a perfect opportunity to share the gospel of Jesus Christ with others. Not because if we do” this” God will do” that.” No, that isn’t how God operates, he isn’t the proverbial Genie in the sky. But, because He promises to provide for us.

 “Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ “For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. (Matt 6:31-33).

If we are seeking God’s first and he CHOOSES to bless us however he chooses to bless then why wouldn’t we say we are blessed?! Isn’t it the same with “Praise the Lord”, “Thank you, Jesus”, and “Hallelujah”? Are we now so politically correct that we are going to stop giving praise and worship to the Only One these blessings come from and the Only One who deserves our praise and worship?

Jesus died so we could live and live life to the fullest! (John 10:10). The moment we chose Jesus we became co-heirs with him

 Now if we are children, then we are heirs–heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. Romans 8:17.

Co-heirs sharing in every spiritual blessing in heaven.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. Ephesians 1:3

Part of our spiritual blessing is the ability to do God’s will by the power of the Holy Spirit dwelling in us. Perhaps God’s will is to bless us materially so that we can do HIS will with that blessing. Ahhhhh.

"I will bless you and you will be a blessing to others."

“I will bless you and you will be a blessing to others.”

God told Abraham,

 And I will make you a great nation,
And I will bless you,
And make your name great;
And so you shall be a blessing;

And I will bless those who bless you,
And the one who curses you I will curse.
And in you all the families of the earth will be blessed.” Genesis 12:2-3

We, being the seed or descendants of Abraham continue to share in these blessings because this is part of our inheritance. Maybe we should stop feeling guilty about our blessings and start using them, (me included) the way God has always intended.

We don’t live in glass houses. We suffer trials, tragedies and challenges like everyone else. However, I refuse to stop saying I am blessed. God is sovereign and if he chooses to bless me one way or another then it is a blessing indeed.

“If we had as many people practicing the Bible as those who love to discuss it over coffee, it would change everything.” Rick Warren.

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow her on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in Blessings, Identity, Inheritance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Faith Not Political Correctness: Should Christians Stop Saying They Are Blessed?

  1. "light and salt" says:

    Terese, I couldn’t agree with you more! We are blessed of God even if we don’t have two cents to rub together. However, as long as God is first in our lives, if He chooses to help us gain great wealth, so be it!

    The Beatitude says “Blessed are the poor in spirit, (humbled before God), for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” That does not mean a rich man cannot enter heaven…as long as…earthly gain hasn’t replaced God as first in his life…

    Steve Pejay

  2. "light and salt" says:

    Reblogged this on "light and salt" and commented:
    A very good article and “food for thought!”

    • Terese says:

      Thank you for your support, Steve! Blessings!

      • "light and salt" says:

        I am happy to lend any support I can, Terese. You are obviously a talented person, useful in this work, and your words need to be read!

        May God love and keep you,
        Steve 🙂

  3. I agree as well. I have thought about that statement a bit too. We are truly blessed only because of Christ. Good job!

  4. Terese says:

    Thank you, Levi. God bless you!

  5. Suzanne Reeds says:

    I come to this blog late, and I see both sides of the issue. However, my take on it might be a bit different. I have no problem with people feeling blessed, but I do think there is danger is claiming it. There have been times, and it is still the case in some places, that people who are not as materially fortunate have been considered unfaithful–that if indeed they did have faith, then they too would be blessed. That was particularly true around Reconstruction, but it rears its ugly head from time to time, and in fact is a bit prevalent today.

    To me it makes no difference–I have no personal investment in religion as I am agnostic and don’t actually believe in a personal god nor in the divinity of Jesus Christ. But I make no claim about who’s right or wrong. I just think we should all be sensitive to what effect the things we say and do have on others.

    • Terese says:

      Susanne,
      Thank you for your comment. I am sorry that there are people who are materially less fortunate that feel as if they have somehow been unfaithful. That is a lie. I believe God blesses us in many ways, with our time, money, our natural ability to do things, i.e., sing, administrative, childcare, etc. In his word he tells us that he blesses us to be a blessing to others. However, we ought to do so with grace, love and humbleness. The sense I got from the article I had read that prompted me to write this blog, is that we shouldn’t always say a blessing is a blessing. When we voice “what a blessing,” it is giving praise to God, from whom all blessings flow.

      I hope you’ll come back often and find hope and encouragement in what you read.
      Shalom!

      • Suzanne Reeds says:

        I do plan to follow your blog for some period of time. I majored in religion and philosophy in college, and was a religion editor for years. My interest is in social response to religion, and how society is affected by the different viewpoints. I suspect I will find interesting conversation here and I might throw in a comment now and then. It’s important to me for you to be aware that I am not a believer. I have ideas of what seems true to me, but I don’t think we can know what the truth is. Any comments I make will come from that philosophical understanding, and never from a preconceived notion of what actually is true. It is my belief that we don’t know and can’t, but that religion has a place if it is embraced as it should be and not used as a weapon of fear. Christians should do as Jesus would do, and when they do, they are exquisite.

      • Terese says:

        Suzanne, thank you for sharing your views. I understand that you are not a believer. I am fascinated by your study of religion and look forward to your comments from a philosophical view point. I agree, religion should never be used as a weapon of fear. My belief is that fear does not come from God, God is complete love. I also believe it should be every believers goal to do as Jesus would do. That is what we are encouraged to do in His word, to become more christlike everyday. I have no hidden agenda. I love God and want to share his love with those I meet and come into contact with. I truly believe that God created each human being and that he loves us and desires to be in a love relationship with all his creation.

  6. Jenny says:

    I came across your post and am curious to know what you think of the following bible verse. I have always wanted to ask a Christian but I don’t know any who are as eloquent as you:
    Let the women learn in silence with all subjection. But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.” (I Timothy 2:11-14)

    • Terese says:

      Jenny,

      What a great question! Here is my understanding of these verses. During the first century Jewish culture women were not allowed to study. Some of the newly converted women of the Ephesian church were apparently trying to teach when they did not have the maturity or the extensive Scriptural knowledge to do so. What Paul offers them is a new opportunity to learn God’s word in quietness and composure but not total silence.
      As for the deception of Eve, Paul is comparing the women of the church of Ephesus being deceived by false teachers to Eve being deceived by the serpent.

      I hope this helps! Thanks for stopping by to read Hope for Today.

  7. ropheka says:

    Everything we receive from our Father is a loving gift and as such is a blessing whether physical or spiritual.

    Enjoy the gifts your Heavenly Father blesses you with today and every day.

Leave a Reply

