A Life For A Life?

Family Word As Symbol Of Parenthood And Togetherness

It was New Year’s Eve. My husband and I had gone to bed amidst, what seemed to be the unending sound of M-80’s going off around the neighborhood. Did I just hear gunshots? Six, in rapid succession. Lest you think we live in an undesirable area, we don’t. Actually, our city has gone from rural farming to one of the fastest growing bedroom communities in the area.

Shortly after midnight my son walked in and asked if he could go pick up a friend who had asked him for a ride because he was not in any condition to drive himself.

1166-peopleApparently, my son had sent out a message to some of his friends that he was available to give rides home to those who needed them. Love his huge heart of caring! However, I did not want him going out; it was after all after midnight and many inebriated people, I’m sure, would be on the road. We had a brief discussion on how something can be good but not necessarily the right thing to do.  My son, not wanting to listen to what I had to say and deciding to take the consequences of disobedience, chose to go anyway.

Beside acting like a complete basket case of a mom and following him, the only thing left for me to do was pray. As I laid there seeking my God and his wisdom, I said to Him, “I’m not willing to sacrifice the life of my son for another.” Wow, oh my and ouch. Did I really just say that to God!?!!

In that moment I was reminded ever so gently by the Holy Spirit that my life was bought with a ransom; with a life, the life of the Son of God.Christ carrying the cross

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. John 3:16-17.

Abba, Father. I confess and repent of my attitude from that night. Knowing that the life I live and that of my family is for You. Thank you for working out your perfect will in our lives. Amen.

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Periscope at Terese@blessedlamb.
This entry was posted in John 3:16 For God so loved the world he gave his one and only Son, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Life For A Life?

Leave a Reply

