The Dream Of A Twenty-Something

I am an avid reader and I love everything about a book. The front cover, the feel of a new book in my hands, the turning of crisp pages. Needless to say I haven’t quite gotten into the e-reader craze. In fact we still own bookshelves, two of them. You know, those tall towers with shelves placed just far enough apart from one another to hold all those magnificently bound books. Most of them read but some sitting there, waiting patiently, hoping to be the next one chosen to be read, to be held and to be enjoyed.

In my younger years my genre of choice was romance novels; predictable, I know. I would devour books as if they were my last meal. Reading during breaks and after work, staying up late to finish that one last chapter only to finish the entire book. The tiredness I would feel the next day was worth it, hey, I was twenty-something! Sometimes I would even devote entire weekends to reading. Not that I would intentionally begin a weekend this way, but if you love to read, you know how it is when you’re reading a really good book and feel as if you are best friends with all the characters. You simply cannot put that book down. I once worked with a lady who read more than me. When she was done with her books she would bring them to me, in bags, grocery bags full, all at one time. Talk about being an avid reader, she had me beat.

IMAG1020_1One day, in my mid-twenties, I had a spectacular idea; I was going to write a novel! I knew the premise of the story, even had the title picked out. Then life happened; I met a wonderful man, we married and started a family and now we have begun our empty nest. That novel has remained on the back burner for all these years. I wish here is where I could tell you that I have begun that novel, but it isn’t. However, I would like to share with you…………..I Am Published!

It happened quite unexpectedly. I received an email from the editor of our church’s Women’s newsletter. She wanted to know if she could use my current post at the time in the upcoming newsletter and any past or future post. I am humbled but who would I be kidding if I didn’t say I am also thrilled!

Dreams, even long ago dreams, do come true, especially when God’s hand is all over it.

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dream Of A Twenty-Something

  1. Whitney says:

    Congratulations, keep up the good work. With God all things are possible, even the fulfillment of dreams we thought improbable to realize. So, dream big, trust God, and, as Longfellow said, “Look, then, into thine heart, and write!”

Leave a Reply

