The Splendor of it All

Image

I was traipsing through my day, enjoying the blessing of a mini family vacation before my kids had to head back to school from their Fall break. We were in an area where we had spent many Fall’s. This year was different. The colors were spectacular! The red’s were screaming loud and vibrant. The orange’s were saying, “hey, over here, look at me!” The burgundy’s were deep and rich, like a well aged bottle of wine. The yellow’s were subtly; confident in their own contribution. I was surrounded by a bevy of color and I wasn’t even on the East coast. In a moment I realized I didn’t need to be. The West coast has it’s own display of Fall splendor and this time I took notice and lived and experienced this wondrous sight.

Reading God’s word, many times, can be the same way. We’ve read certain Scripture numerous times not stopping to drink in the beautiful picture painted for us. As I was traipsing along throughout my day, I came across 1 Corinthians 3:16. Here, let me share with.

“Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?”

When I first came across this verse, the Holy Spirit shone on it like a stage light upon its actors, and I knew God was up to something. The second time I came across this verse was much later in the day. This time I asked God to begin showing me what he wanted me to know about this verse. My answer came at 3:00am. I was awakened, not because I heard a noise or had a scary dream, not even because someone was feeling sick and needed my attention. I was Simply. Wide. Awake. I did what I normally do when I’m wide awake at 3:00am. I prayed. My prayers weren’t general in nature, instead the Holy Spirit guided me very specifically toward prayers for those I knew were seeking healing spiritually and physically. As I prayed, 1 Corinthians 3:16 came to mind for a third time and I felt led to pray this verse for those I was praying for.

Image

Now, I’m a researcher by nature AND a black and white thinker. When I study God’s word I like all the pieces to fit together. Especially so that I don’t take any of His word out of context. I am learning, however, that many times, theology aside, the Holy Spirit will illuminate Scripture at a face value concept.

What I sense the Holy Spirit telling me is that many times, perhaps we lose sight of the truth that we are God’s temple and the very Spirit of God dwells within us; that this truth is part of our inheritance here on earth as it already is in heaven. This truth is one of the many spiritual blessings that belong to us because of our faith in Christ and His atoning work on the cross. That the healing we seek we can ask for in prayer and continue asking for and that it lies within us because the Holy Spirit embodies us. I have found through personal experience with prayers of healing that most times there is a heart issue that God wants us to see; forgiveness towards others or ourselves, releasing resentment, anger, hurt or any other negative emotion. This is where and when, I believe, true healing begins. Sometimes it is immediate and I would add miraculous, but all God’s healing’s are miraculous! Sometimes it takes time, peeling away layer by layer of stuffed emotions that have become a belief system of bondage. That is why it is so important to continue to delight in an abiding  relationship with Jesus; so we don’t miss any of the moments of his wisdom and guidance. Yes, His very Spirit lives within us, but we have to choose to ask, to listen, to see and to follow.

Beloved, sometimes the work in you is hard and dirty and even painful, but He is always with you. Taking you from those dark and secret places to the beautiful and spectacular array of colors just waiting to be lived and experienced by you! Are you willing to ask and have it given to you; to seek and find, find Him and his will for your life; to knock and have to the door of His heart opened to you? My prayer is that your desire is for Him and Him alone.

Image                       Image                         Image

If you have never given your life to Jesus and are ready to do so, please contact me via email or find a trusted friend who trusts Jesus or a local church.

To view the remainder of the photos in this album visit the link below.

About Terese

Terese is a wife, mother, sister, aunt and friend. Best of all a daughter of the King! Terese is a Bible study teacher and speaker. One of her passions is investing in the lives of other women and encouraging them in their identity and authority in Christ. Terese is a life long student of God's grace. Follow me on Face Book teresebelme@restoredbygrace2017 and Instagram @terese_belme
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

